Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was fantastic! I added some Paprika, cayenne to spice it up and cummin powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imedlen
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Yummy. Used Chopped Carrots and less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe, I added green pepper, zucchini, olive oil, more curry!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This the first time I have ever made lentils and it was delicious. I added carrots instead of celery because I didn't have any and just a little bit of coconut milk while it was simmering. I love the taste. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good base recipe. I've made it a few times now, always with a full teaspoon of curry powder because no one ever adds enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was really good for how inexpensive the ingredients are; my 10 year old loved it too! I added a piece of cinnamon bark and some garam masala plus a little ginger-garlic paste instead of all garlic. I also added some chili sauce after cooking just to my bowl for a little heat...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Delicious. I doubled the recipe and used a bit more chopped onion. I squeezed some fresh lemon juice on at the end to give it a little more kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I had to make a few alterations to the recipe. I doubled it. However I made the following adjustments: 1) I used about 3.5 cups of chicken broth, 2) a can of Italian seasoned tomatoes (didn't have anything else!), 3) a medium onion diced, 4) three cloves of garlic, 5) a whole teaspoon of curry powder (and I think it may need more), and 6) omitted the celery (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very very nice - perfect for a rainy afternoon. Made as directed and it was good (although a bit thick for me). Modified as follows: 1 cup lentils, 1 can chicken broth, 2 cups water, 1 can stewed tomatoes, sauteed the veggies in olive oil before adding, added carrots, a palm full of brown rice, and a small chunk of parm cheese rind. Even my grandkids wolfed it down. Thank you so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was absolutely delish! I substituded vegetable broth for water, added carrots, and a LOT more curry than the recipe called for. I served it with a dollop of plain yogurt on top, and pita bread. It was a big hit, and was even better the next day! Definitely making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States