Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I substituted bell pepper stews for the celery just because that's what I happened to have. I am sure all kinds of variations are wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tkay77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe did not turn out well for me at all. I tried to scale it up for 12, at which point it calls for 18 cloves of garlic. That seemed outrageous, but I trusted and tried anyway. Alas, it was as garlic-y and disgusting as it seemed while I was making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My family wanted to eat more heart healthy and I found this recipe and made it for lunch. They loved it so I brought some to work and it really was a hit! I am sharing this site with everyone. Thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Amazing. Added red onion and two cans stewed tomatoes. Served it with tofu sausages and it was awesome. Hubby loves it, will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very tasty! I added mixed frozen veggies and that gave it a nice color and a more varied texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I'm not sure about this recipe. Too many lentils for the amount of liquid and I wish I'd used broth instead of water for more flavor. Thought it had an interesting taste at the end, but only after I added twice as much curry and some bouillon. I will make it again, but will do it quite differently next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was incredible with a few alterations. I doubled the recipe, replaced the water with veggie broth, used a 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes, sliced 1 stalk of celery and 1 good sized carrot, half of an onion roughly chopped, two minced cloves of garlic, 1.5 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp of garam masala. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is a really good basic recipe for Lentil Stew. I've added Coconut milk and a little ginger at times. Bottled Thai red curry also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was delicious!! I read the reviews and modified as follows. Vegetable stock instead of water. More tomatoes. Halved the celery and replaced the other half with carrots. Used a little less garlic. Added much more curry. And it still was missing a little zing, so I added cayenne pepper, coriander, cumin, and cardamom. Then added coconut milk at the very end. I quadrupled the recipe and had enough to freeze. Looking forward to defrosting it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I doubled the recipe for my family and we all enjoyed it. Super hearty for a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States