Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My husband really liked this. I omitted the celery because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Photo by Lynda Q
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe that is filling and healthy and affordable. I tripled the recipe and made adjustments according to what I had available, and it came out delicious. The changes I made: Green pepper instead of celery; added one white potato, cubed; and added 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper for a little bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
great recipe! my only suggestion would be to add more curry powder! tastes great over rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Super delicious and incredibly filling. No need to add rice, potatoes or bread -- this is a very hearty stew. I did use vegetable stock instead of water. The sour cream on top is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was great! I more/less quadrupled* the recipe to have enough for the family, and everyone loved it... including the kids! Absolutely fantastic, and we'll definitely do it again. *I used a 1-pound bag of lentils and multiplied other ingredients except the celery and garlic accordingly. Two ribs of celery plus a fistful of leaves was sufficient, and I didn't dare throw in more than four garlic cloves. Results were outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I did add a little cider vinegar after tasting it towards the end of cooking and finding it somewhat bland, but it ended up tasting great and my kids even had seconds! It was extra yummy with a cheeky blob of sour cream on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Easy, tasty, and filling! I made some substitutions--I used broth instead of water, a full onion instead of 1/8th of one, carrots instead of celery, and a can of diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I sauteed the onion, garlic, and carrots until the onion softened before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also increased the amount of curry to around 1 teaspoon, because I love anything curry-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is one of my regular recipes and it is delicious. Very healthy too and lots of flavor. I serve it over brown rice or with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I think this would have been a little bland for my tastes as is. I added 1 can of low fat coconut milk, 1 tbs hot curry paste, cayenne, and a bit of allspice and cinnamon for some sweetness. I also used vegetable broth as opposed to water. It was absolutely fabulous with the alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was a good, healthy recipe. I like my food spicy, and added a finely diced serrano pepper to the mix. Next time I will also use chicken stock for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States