Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was great - so easy and delicious. Brought it to a party and so many people asked for the recipe. I multiplied the recipe by 5, and here are my modifications: I used vegetable broth instead of water and approx 1/2 stalk of celery and 1/2 large carrot per 1/2 cup dry lentils. I also used probably 1-2 cloves garlic per 1/2 cup lentils instead of 3 cloves. I used canned crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and it was great. At the end of cooking time, add a splash of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was really good! I did tweak it a little after reading other reviews I added some finely chopped carrotts and used vegetable broth instead of water and fresh tomatoes. I also generously doubled the curry. Hmmmm. Love curry! This was great and even DH was impressed, this from the man who doesnt like lentils:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was an awesome soup. I added potatoes and the only tomatoes I had were "balsamic vinegar, basil and olive oil". I was a little worried it would clash with the curry powder but it turned out fabulous! I also used vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Delicious as is! You don't need to add your twist or complicate this simple recipe. Finally, something I make turns out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I too made some changes: added a bay leaf Used chicken broth(and used more liquids) halved the celery Added 1 carrot Added 2 small potatoes Added 1 yellow squash Added some cream before serving. I was surprised by how good this turned out - it exceeded my expectations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipss
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe... very easy to make and healthy. I think if I were to make it again I would use less celery (I am not a huge celery fan), and perhaps add some carrots and more tomatoes. I did enjoy this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Yum! I added carrots and a sweet potato that needed to be used and both were great. I doubled the curry powder and added 1/4 tsp garam masala and 1/4 tsp coriander as well as some red pepper. Definitely needed a little spicing up! At the end, I took 1/3 of the stew and blended it in the food processor with some sour cream then added it back in. Makes for a wonderfully creamy, more soupy consistency. I think you could add just about any veggie to this easy base recipe for a yummy hearty stew...very flexible. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Pretty good stew. It could use a lil something more to make it amazing! I did omit the celery and added carrots. I would have enjoyed a bit more creamy taste....I added a 1/4 cup milk at the end, but it didn't cream up as much as I would have enjoyed. I think that next time I will add some shredded chicken or ground beef. I also think that adding some saigon cinnamon would enhance the flavors. Pretty good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was OK, certainly not the best curry I've ever had but I suppose if you're looking for a very healthly curry, this is the one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Nice stew-y meal, hearty and spicy. I follows others' suit and added some other veggies - I used a frozen mix of stew vegetables (potatoes, celery, carrots) and added them in the last 15 minutes with the curry powder. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States