Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TYLOR9
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. I have made it many times and changed just a few things. I make all of this in an oven-proof skillet, so when I finish the saute, I just put the whole thing in the oven to finish. Increase curry to 2 tsp, add 1/2 tsp cumin, omit parmesean cheese, use olive oil in place of butter, cut chicken into 1-2 inch pieces, add potatoes cut into 1-2 inch pieces (boil first for 10 minutes). And I bake it for 30 minutes at 350, make sure to let the dish sit for at least 10 minutes before serving -it all settles very nicely that way, seems to be creamier that way. Sometimes I add some dried parsely to it just to give it an "herb" look. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
My husband and I loved this dish! I did everything on stovetop instead of baking in the oven. I sauteed the onions and added some chopped green pepper in a skillet with olive oil, instead of butter, and in a separate dutch oven, I cooked cubed chicken breast with salt and pepper and olive oil. In a separate saucepan, I put chopped canned tomatoes, tomato paste, 1 bottle of beer, and all the spices (extra curry and cumin!). I added the onion/peppers to the chicken and poured the sauce & spices over and simmered for about 15-20 min. I have a microwaveable rice cooker, so I partially cooked the rice, and then added it to the tomato and chicken mixture and simmered for another 10 minutes. Sooo delicious! I will be making this when friends and family come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRELANDMEALS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is the recipe my friends ask for the most often. Taking another's advice, I have added some spices and made a few changes. I add a can of drained diced tomatoes in addition to the soup. With the diced tomatoes, I think the recipe needs more spices so I use 2.5 teaspoons of curry and add in 1.5 teaspoons of cumin and 1.5 teaspoons garam masala. After it is finished baking, I dice up the chicken and serve the dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Yeesh! This recipe was a TOTAL bummer. Frankly, I am COMEPLETELY mystified; since this had received 5 stars from just about everyone, I had been expecting it to be fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly, only to get dry chicken breasts and a sauce whose smell and taste really turned me off. Yikes! The only taste-affecting variable I can think of to blame for such negative results (when everyone else seemed to have positive ones!) would be the type of beer used . . . but to be honest, I was so yucked out by this that I wouldn't try it again regardless. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made quite a few adjustments based on the reviews - I seasoned the cubed chicken and onions with salt, pepper, curry, and paprika. I browned the chicken with the onions in a large suace pan, then poured in 6 oz beer with 1 can crushed and 1 can diced tomatoes. I then stirred in 3 tsp curry, 1/2 tsp cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, salt and 1 tsp basil. When the chicken was almost cooked through, I threw in some pre-cooked cubed potatoes and cauliflower, let it all simmer and right before I took it off heat, a few dashes of cream to balance out the tartness of the tomatoes. YUM! Total hit =) I took away one star because of all the changes, but the basic recipe is great - very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I changed the recipe a bit and used a whole chicken, more beer and lipton onion soup mix instead of a real onion. It wasn't bad, but still needed more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe was great! It was easy to prepare and tasty. I did cube the chicken, and the curry seemed a little sweet next time I plan on adding cayenne to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I'm not a big curry lover but this recipe is the perfect blend to me. I like to substitute diced tomatoes for the condensed tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was surprisingly good! Because the sauce tasted a bit bland and too sweet, I added a little garlic powder and some garam masala along with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. The result was a very yummy chicken curry that wasn't too bold tasting for my kids. Who knew tomato soup could taste so good as a sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was nice and easy and tasty too! Hubby really liked it. Next time I may add more Indian spices but it was good as stated. I cooked it all on the stove to same time. And didn't add parmesan cheese; that just seemed odd with the curry flavor. I only used two breasts so there was plenty of sauce to dip our naan in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States