Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I doubled the recipe, I cut up the chicken into ~1" 'cubes', and cut up the potato (Yukon Gold) into roughly the same size. Other than that I followed the recipe. Personally I'll double the curry powder next time. Wife and I added a bit more to our bowls, and I put a little bit more the left over dish before freezing. 4 Stars, because it's not the best in the world, but quite good for how simple it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Great recipe, full of flavor!!! I added cumin and red peper flakes as others suggested. Also added more curry. red pepper gave it too much heat, so I wil skip next time. Otherwise, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Sooooo good! I cook the potatoes in with the chicken and sauce. Stove top not in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made it for my family and didn't expect it to be that good but it really was great. My boys came back for seconds, which is unusual when I make chicken curry. The thing that I did different was used crushed peppers to make is spicy. Great Recipe. Shoby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe! My husband was skeptical because he does not like curry at all but loved this alot as did my son! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious but it does need a little kick for me - I added double the curry and some red pepper. Substituted fire roasted tomatoes for the tomato soup. Really good with a good rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Oh WOW! This was great and so refreshingly unique in the world of chicken recipes. I doubled the basil and curry,used sweet onions and half of a leftover green pepper. I also usedl1 sliced zuccinni one yellow squash and well a whole bottle of beer. Served with wild rice and this will be a dish for company in the future.I used provolone cheese cause it is what I had.Thanks Franny we LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious recipe, will definitely make again. Modifications: diced chicken breasts into 1-2 inch chunks before cooking, used 2 tsp curry powder plus 1 tsp cumin. I used an oatmeal stout for the beer, because that's what was in the fridge. Served with rice. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
A very good basic tomato curry. I prefer boneless chicken thighs for curries (I always sear meat in a skillet with a bit of oil before transferring to a baking dish) , and used them in this dish. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of curry powder to give a bit more of a kick. I also used fresh basil. I did use a darker beer (Modelo Negro). There were no left overs. I served this with Basmati Rice and peas and carrots. I will make this again. Thank-you Franny for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My changes: Brown cubed chicken in oil...remove..and return to pan when 'sauce' is simmering...Cover and simmer 45 min...uncover and sinner til sauce thickens another 20 min to half hour. I, too, used diced tomatoes but added a bit of vermouth in place of the beer that I didnt have...:) Added a touch of 1/2 and 1/2. Also added diced potatoes and bell pepper Served over brown rice. Still ..hmm...missing something....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States