Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I loved it! But I do think cubing the chicken and serving over rice is a great idea. I will do that next time. But as is, this recipe was so easy and so tasty I know I will be fixing it again. It tastes like it was a lot more work than it was. I also liked the suggestion of doing it all in an oven-proof skillet - one less dish to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made some changes, like adding potatoes, using tomato puree (not the soup), and adding some more spices, I thought it was ok. My 7 y.o. LOVED it, rare for her to like anything w/ curry, so I have to give it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a very good base curry sauce. Baking the chicken seems to really keep it tender. I've made this recipe 3 or 4 times now, each time with a different variation. I feel that the curry should always be doubled. I have also added garam marsala and cumin (2tsp curry, 1tsp garam marsala and 1/2 tst cumin). I suggest adding any combination of chopped red potatoes, chick peas, cauliflower, fresh chopped tomatoes, chopped fresh cilantro, heavy cream. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Carle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe! I did make a few changes, however - I mixed together all ingredients in a deep pan on the stovetop and brought to a boil. I diced the chicken into small bites and added this to the boiling mixture. The chicken cooks in much less time (less than 15 minutes) and is much more flavorful than whole breasts. Also, I doubled the sauce recipe, as there just wasn't enough to go around with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
The whole concept of the recipe is easy and wonderful. I adjusted the seasonings according to our likes and used chicken tenderloins pounded thin and browned lightly. You can step it up a notch or down depending on your personal preference. Side of mashed potatoes and a fresh green vegetable makes for a filling dinner with the right amount of eye appeal. Thank You for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My whole family loved this. I had about 5 chicken breasts so I doubled the sauce as I usually find I don't have enough sauce. There was enough and a bit left over. The only other change I made was I added a package of fresh sliced mushrooms. I served over brown rice. I hadn't read other reviews before I made it so next time I will try adding cumin and see what the difference is. Definitely a do again as it was an easy after work meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
At first taste, I was not that impressed with this dish. However, as I allowed the food to sit in my mouth, I was able to distinguish the different flavors and I found that I really enjoyed this dish. Once again I was thwarted by ingredients available in Bolivia. We have no condensed soups here. So, I took a can of peeled tomatoes and chopped them up, mixed them with a can of condensed milk and a bit of heavy cream. I added extra basil (I can't help myself when it comes to basil!) and a bit of salt. All in all it turned out to be a good 'tomato soup'. I tripled the curry (by the way, there are so many varieties of curry out there, I would be careful with doubling or tripling until you know if it is spicy or sweet.) I also did not add the cheese. I served this paired with the Indian Basmati Rice recipe found on allrecipes. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband and son are very finicky eaters. I was not sure if I should make this dish. Boy i am glad I did they loved it and wanted more.. Thank you Franny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsonsire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States