Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by TYLOR9
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. I have made it many times and changed just a few things. I make all of this in an oven-proof skillet, so when I finish the saute, I just put the whole thing in the oven to finish. Increase curry to 2 tsp, add 1/2 tsp cumin, omit parmesean cheese, use olive oil in place of butter, cut chicken into 1-2 inch pieces, add potatoes cut into 1-2 inch pieces (boil first for 10 minutes). And I bake it for 30 minutes at 350, make sure to let the dish sit for at least 10 minutes before serving -it all settles very nicely that way, seems to be creamier that way. Sometimes I add some dried parsely to it just to give it an "herb" look. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I made this recipe with lemonade instead of beer because we don't use alcohol, but it was still great. Taste was very good, perhaps four star, but the ease of preparation compared to many curry recipes makes this worth five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
The curry wasnt overpowering. Tasted very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This meal has a lot of unique flavors and is simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good, and a nice weekday meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I was skeptical when I read the ingredients list, but it comes together really well and has a great flavor. I made a couple of changes: I only used 4 chicken breasts (which was just the right amount), I didn't have any basil so I threw in a little italian seasoning (not much) and I did it all on the stovetop which I think made it even simpler. I will make this again, even my husband who doesn't really like curry liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I used many of the suggestions made by others, in particular Irelandmeals, and added a few of my own. I prepared the entire dish in a wok as follows: First I browned some diced chicken thighs, seasoned with s & p. Then added 1/2 an onion, equal amount of green pepper, and 1-2 cloves of garlic (minced). Then added several large peeled shrimp, removing and setting aside as soon as they turned orange. Then added the sauce, which consisted of 1/2 cup beer, (6-8 oz) diced tomatoes, (1 Tbsp) tomato paste, pinch of sugar, triple the curry powder, 1/2 tsp each of cumin and dried basil, black pepper and also chili flakes. While reducing, I boiled some udon noodles, and added those (drained) along with the shrimp when the sauce was the proper consistency (I like it quite thick.) Parmesian cheese and more black pepper to finish. While this version takes us ever farther from the original, I found it to be most excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Fun to make, but the flavours are a bit unusual. I might make it again, but it won't be a regular addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Excellent and easy recipe. I was a little leary about using tomato soup for a base but it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Yeesh! This recipe was a TOTAL bummer. Frankly, I am COMEPLETELY mystified; since this had received 5 stars from just about everyone, I had been expecting it to be fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly, only to get dry chicken breasts and a sauce whose smell and taste really turned me off. Yikes! The only taste-affecting variable I can think of to blame for such negative results (when everyone else seemed to have positive ones!) would be the type of beer used . . . but to be honest, I was so yucked out by this that I wouldn't try it again regardless. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States