Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TYLOR9
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I love this recipe. I have made it many times and changed just a few things. I make all of this in an oven-proof skillet, so when I finish the saute, I just put the whole thing in the oven to finish. Increase curry to 2 tsp, add 1/2 tsp cumin, omit parmesean cheese, use olive oil in place of butter, cut chicken into 1-2 inch pieces, add potatoes cut into 1-2 inch pieces (boil first for 10 minutes). And I bake it for 30 minutes at 350, make sure to let the dish sit for at least 10 minutes before serving -it all settles very nicely that way, seems to be creamier that way. Sometimes I add some dried parsely to it just to give it an "herb" look. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
My husband and I loved this dish! I did everything on stovetop instead of baking in the oven. I sauteed the onions and added some chopped green pepper in a skillet with olive oil, instead of butter, and in a separate dutch oven, I cooked cubed chicken breast with salt and pepper and olive oil. In a separate saucepan, I put chopped canned tomatoes, tomato paste, 1 bottle of beer, and all the spices (extra curry and cumin!). I added the onion/peppers to the chicken and poured the sauce & spices over and simmered for about 15-20 min. I have a microwaveable rice cooker, so I partially cooked the rice, and then added it to the tomato and chicken mixture and simmered for another 10 minutes. Sooo delicious! I will be making this when friends and family come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRELANDMEALS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is the recipe my friends ask for the most often. Taking another's advice, I have added some spices and made a few changes. I add a can of drained diced tomatoes in addition to the soup. With the diced tomatoes, I think the recipe needs more spices so I use 2.5 teaspoons of curry and add in 1.5 teaspoons of cumin and 1.5 teaspoons garam masala. After it is finished baking, I dice up the chicken and serve the dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Yeesh! This recipe was a TOTAL bummer. Frankly, I am COMEPLETELY mystified; since this had received 5 stars from just about everyone, I had been expecting it to be fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly, only to get dry chicken breasts and a sauce whose smell and taste really turned me off. Yikes! The only taste-affecting variable I can think of to blame for such negative results (when everyone else seemed to have positive ones!) would be the type of beer used . . . but to be honest, I was so yucked out by this that I wouldn't try it again regardless. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made quite a few adjustments based on the reviews - I seasoned the cubed chicken and onions with salt, pepper, curry, and paprika. I browned the chicken with the onions in a large suace pan, then poured in 6 oz beer with 1 can crushed and 1 can diced tomatoes. I then stirred in 3 tsp curry, 1/2 tsp cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, salt and 1 tsp basil. When the chicken was almost cooked through, I threw in some pre-cooked cubed potatoes and cauliflower, let it all simmer and right before I took it off heat, a few dashes of cream to balance out the tartness of the tomatoes. YUM! Total hit =) I took away one star because of all the changes, but the basic recipe is great - very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I changed the recipe a bit and used a whole chicken, more beer and lipton onion soup mix instead of a real onion. It wasn't bad, but still needed more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe was great! It was easy to prepare and tasty. I did cube the chicken, and the curry seemed a little sweet next time I plan on adding cayenne to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I'm not a big curry lover but this recipe is the perfect blend to me. I like to substitute diced tomatoes for the condensed tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was surprisingly good! Because the sauce tasted a bit bland and too sweet, I added a little garlic powder and some garam masala along with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. The result was a very yummy chicken curry that wasn't too bold tasting for my kids. Who knew tomato soup could taste so good as a sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was nice and easy and tasty too! Hubby really liked it. Next time I may add more Indian spices but it was good as stated. I cooked it all on the stove to same time. And didn't add parmesan cheese; that just seemed odd with the curry flavor. I only used two breasts so there was plenty of sauce to dip our naan in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States