Tomato Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
A very good basic tomato curry. I prefer boneless chicken thighs for curries (I always sear meat in a skillet with a bit of oil before transferring to a baking dish) , and used them in this dish. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of curry powder to give a bit more of a kick. I also used fresh basil. I did use a darker beer (Modelo Negro). There were no left overs. I served this with Basmati Rice and peas and carrots. I will make this again. Thank-you Franny for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My changes: Brown cubed chicken in oil...remove..and return to pan when 'sauce' is simmering...Cover and simmer 45 min...uncover and sinner til sauce thickens another 20 min to half hour. I, too, used diced tomatoes but added a bit of vermouth in place of the beer that I didnt have...:) Added a touch of 1/2 and 1/2. Also added diced potatoes and bell pepper Served over brown rice. Still ..hmm...missing something....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very good! I chopped up a red pepper and used some minced onion instead of real thing. Added some parsley and red pepper flakes and garlic powder. It had a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya Songer Bryant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was an awesome meal. I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the curry! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very nice! Easy, but tasted like it came from a restaurant. Kind of an introduction-to-curry recipe. Was good with rice, and I recommend serving sauce separately for picky children and dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
After cooking the onions and stirring in the beer and spices, I personally didn't think this was spicy enough. So I added 1 1/2 tablespoon paprika, 1 1/2 tablespoon of cumin, 1 tablespoon of curry powder, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and salt. Then it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I liked this, the kids loved it. I did add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joanna, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Used suggestions from other reviews and really liked it, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I adjusted this recipe in the following manner to cook it in my slow cooker. I used 2 cups cooked cubed chicken, 1 enveloped Lipton onion soup mix, 1 cup apple juice versus the beer called for, 2 teaspoons curry powder, 1/2 teaspoon cumin. I also parboiled some small red potatoes(just enough to fill the bottom of a six quart Dutch oven, in one layer with 2 Tablespoons salt.) I cubed the potatoes and placed them on the bottom of the slow-cooker. I then put the cubed chicken on top of that. I then made the sauce and poured that over all. I cooked this on the lowest setting for five hours. The length of time allowed the flavors in the sauce to permate the chicken and the potatoes. It was just the right amount of spiciness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erin, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Eh. This was way too sweet for my taste. The curry addition was good, but maybe next time I might use diced tomatoes. You might like this if you are into sweeeeeeet dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States