Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
we all thought the fresh veggies tasted better on their own. I think it was the lemon juice that messed this up for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is my favorite salad. A friend made it for me and I went crazy over it! The only things I would change in this recipe is to add a 12 oz can(pitted) whole black olives - medium size. I keep them whole. Drain and rinse olives before adding to mix. I actually use the juice from 2 lemons and use about 1/2 cup or more of olive oil. For those who think the salad is bland... I'm guessing that you did not add enough salt & pepper - please try it again - you will surprise yourself! It is fresh tasting and everyone goes nuts over it every time I make it. I usually chill it 30 minutes so the juices can marinate the veggies. I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
33
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used a small amount of minced red onion instead of white, added a splash of olive oil and a pinch of dried herb seasoning. Next time I will eliminate the onion and add fresh mozzarella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Made this without onions. Very cool and fresh. Good as an alternative to a salad with lettuce and salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I halved this recipe, and reduced the onion to 1/4 based on other reviews - even that seemed a bit much. Made this with greek chicken kabobs and rice pilaf, it was a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This came out amazing! I used half an onion, added a little extra virgin alive oil, and added sliced mozzarella balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeveck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Sorry for the low rating. I love tomatoes and cucumbers, but this salad was very bland. Maybe some olive oil would have helped as another reviewer here suggested. However, I wouldn't try again but return to an Italian version with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, pepper, salt, basil and a dash of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I used only 1/2 an onion, added 1 tbsp. olive oil, 1/4 tsp salt and pepper and some parsley. With these changes I would rate it a 5. It's almost like Greek salad without the feta cheese. Easy to make with few ingredients! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Original review: 5/30/06: I saw this salad reviewed by LIZCANCOOK on the community reviews, and I thought I would try it, as I needed to use up some grape tomatoes and a cucumber. I made as is, and it was a bit bland, so I took LIZCANCOOK's suggests and added olive oil and some spices. However, this was not a good combination for me, it was very blah and it gave me heartburn. ): Sorry, won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States