Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
We followed the suggestions below and it turned out great! Perfect cold salad on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
YUMMY! Nice summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this similar to VHAFT99 added a small amount of minced garlic in olive oil, a few drops of Italian dressing in extra-virgin olive oil, basil, parsley, and herb seasoning along with a freshly squeezed lemon. I think the lemon gave a real fresh taste and blended well with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I followed the tips mentioned below and only used a third of an onion -- next time I'll use only a quarter of a medium red onion. I also pitted the tomatoes, rested all veggies on paper towels, and still had excess juices that I poured out of the salsd bowl just before serving. Nevertheless, a very tasty salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I thought this was perfect, and very refreshing on a cool day. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This is exactly what I was looking for. Very quick and easy to make if you just want to add a nice like side dish to your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Since my wife loves cucumbers in salads, I tried this recipe out for her. She could not stop raving about how good it tasted. It was simple and quick to prepare and delicious to eat. We will definitely try it again, but we might add just a bit of cilantro to add a bit of Mexican flavor. This one is worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I do a slight variation on this recipe, which I learned from my 1/4 Lebanese roommate! First, "gut" the tomatoes before they are chopped so they don't have all those seeds and runny juices! Second, use red onion, and only 1/4 to 1/2 an onion depending on size. Third, in addition to the fresh-squeezed lemon, add a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. And finally, I season with a dash of dried basil, kosher salt, pepper, and a generous sprinkle of dried (or fresh would be fine) parsley! Chill before serving. This dish is great with chicken and rice, or as a light lunch salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I did not care for this dish (my husband ate some with chop-sticks and thought it was pretty good...gotta love him). Adding the salt drew water out of the tomatoes. After letting this sit for a while to blend the flavors...it was watery. I'm not a big cucumber fan, so this just wasn't for me. For those who do like cucumbers...dig in! Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I've been making this salad for many years. I make a few changes though. I use 3 medium plum tomatoes, 1/2 of a peeled english cucumber, and only about 1/4 of a medium sweet onion at the most. I'm not a big onion fan and if there's any more onion in it then that, it's too overpowering but I've also made it without any and the salad doesn't have enough flavor. Just a small amount is all you need to make a big difference. I also like to sprinkle some parsley on the top for a nice appearance. This is a great salad that everyone seems to enjoy and you can make it several hours in advance which works well when you are entertaining. You may want to drain it before serving because after it sits for a while it becomes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States