Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I do a slight variation on this recipe, which I learned from my 1/4 Lebanese roommate! First, "gut" the tomatoes before they are chopped so they don't have all those seeds and runny juices! Second, use red onion, and only 1/4 to 1/2 an onion depending on size. Third, in addition to the fresh-squeezed lemon, add a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. And finally, I season with a dash of dried basil, kosher salt, pepper, and a generous sprinkle of dried (or fresh would be fine) parsley! Chill before serving. This dish is great with chicken and rice, or as a light lunch salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I've been making this salad for many years. I make a few changes though. I use 3 medium plum tomatoes, 1/2 of a peeled english cucumber, and only about 1/4 of a medium sweet onion at the most. I'm not a big onion fan and if there's any more onion in it then that, it's too overpowering but I've also made it without any and the salad doesn't have enough flavor. Just a small amount is all you need to make a big difference. I also like to sprinkle some parsley on the top for a nice appearance. This is a great salad that everyone seems to enjoy and you can make it several hours in advance which works well when you are entertaining. You may want to drain it before serving because after it sits for a while it becomes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This recipe had a few too many raw onions for my family's liking. If I made it again, I'd either omit or greatly reduce the amount of onion I'd use. Very simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
This is a delicious salad that tastes great with Indian food. I like to add some chopped fresh cilantro leaves or mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simmig
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I followed the tips mentioned below and only used a third of an onion -- next time I'll use only a quarter of a medium red onion. I also pitted the tomatoes, rested all veggies on paper towels, and still had excess juices that I poured out of the salsd bowl just before serving. Nevertheless, a very tasty salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This is the standard Indian "vegetable salad" that you find in all the restaurants, with the tomatoes and cubumbers sliced or chopped in fancy ways. It still remains a favourite with dad, who likes all the veggies finely chopped. A plate of curd(yogurt)-rice and this salad is the best way to settle a messed up tummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Too many onions and it needed more than just a squeeze of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
We followed the suggestions below and it turned out great! Perfect cold salad on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
It goes with almost all the food I make and it's always on my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I did not care for this dish (my husband ate some with chop-sticks and thought it was pretty good...gotta love him). Adding the salt drew water out of the tomatoes. After letting this sit for a while to blend the flavors...it was watery. I'm not a big cucumber fan, so this just wasn't for me. For those who do like cucumbers...dig in! Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States