Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I ended up having to add quite of bit of seasonings, some olive oil, and extra lemon juice to make this have enough flavor to want to eat. Also, despite decreasing the onions to only a third, they were still too pungent. It was light and refreshing, but I was even bothered by the amount of juices that the salt pulled out of the veggies (and I even "gutted" all of the cukes and tomatoes.) Looking for something to use up the abundance of veggies from my garden right now, but sadly this won't be a recipe I try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I was really surprised that Hubby liked this! He said it was very refreshing and could go with about anything. I liked it but I had the sweet/sour taste stuck in my head that I'm expecting for the cukes, so seemed a bit bland for me. Will make again and try some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I added a little vinegar. Love this salad- so fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I have been eating this salad since as far back as I can remember. One great thing to do with leftovers is put it on a nice bun or roll with a slice of cheese makes a great cool summer sandwich. When I am in a hurry I will add a tablespoon of Italian dressing to season it. Mainly the mixture of the veggie juices and a little pepper is a perfect season for this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teapea33
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
pretty good, very light and healthy - good mood food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love this in theory, my Mom makes something very similar. I think next time I'll use about half the onion and substitute vinegar for the lemon juice. Great recipe though, perfect for my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
i try to give my family a salad every night with dinner and this is another easy one that ill put into the rotation : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Not exactly exciting or exotic, but a nice basic little cold side dish for summer food. I cut down on the onion to only a very small amount and used an english cucumber, removing the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made it for a BBQ and didn't seem to get great reviews. Probably would try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Best if the salad has time to soak - for the onion's sake. Not a raw onion fan here. Used 1/4 of onions asked for. Added basil and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States