Tomato Cucumber Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
YUM!!! Didn't read the instructions before starting and didn't realize I needed to marinate cukes an hour before finishing, so dinner was on the table before this was ready. So, after I finished making it, I put it in a container and let it sit overnight and had it for lunch the next day. Good idea! It really allowed all those wonderful flavors to marry, and it was WONDERFUL! Added a ball of fresh mozzarella, cubed just before serving. As another reviewer quoted, "Tastes like summer!" Other than adding the mozzarella, didn't change a thing. This is light and refreshing. A real keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
AMAZING SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very refreshing! Would be great to take to a picnic. Its the kind of salad that when it gets mixed up with the other food your plate.. it makes the other food better :) I did not use the olive oil, just didnt think it needed it. Also, gradually add mint so you get the taste thats best for you. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I really enjoy the mint in this recipe. If no one else in the family likes it, good. More for me!! Scale to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Similar to AUNTWEBBIE I also do not like Mint with non dessert dishes, however when making this for a barbeque I went to, it went down really well !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I loved the recipe. I know the mint is the important part, but I didn't have any. But it's still amazing. I did think that next time I will use 3 cucumbers instead of only 2. There is a lot more tomatoes than cucumbers. I love tomatoes but the cucumbers really soak up the taste and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I left out the sugar and switched basil for the mint. Although I'm sure it's great with mint, I prefer basil. make sure you use a really good extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My family has been enjoying this salad for years without the mint, so the mint gave it a new fun kick. I also didn't use 1/2 cup because that seemed like it would be too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I agree with others who said that there was too much mint, so I also used less than was called for. This is definitely an interesting salad. I loved it, it was so refreshing although fresh mint is not a taste I am accustomed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
If you find the Red Wine Vinegar is too acidic try Balmastic Vinegar. I also used Grape Tomatoes which I cut in half. This is an excellent recipe for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States