Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
on paper this recipe sounded great... however, i think that there was far too much vinegar and it overwhelmed the balance of the salad. also, i thought that the mint sounded like a creative and unusual addition and i was excited to use it (i even bought a mint plant!) but honestly if i make this again i won't use it. it just tasted "out of place"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great, fresh salad! I doubled it and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very fresh tasting, and loved the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVID RUSH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dawson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
i thought that this was good. i really liked the mint. it made it that much more fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very quick and easy. I accidentally used apple cider vinegar, and it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very pretty, very tasty, and very easy. Next time I might try chopping the cucumber instead of slicing so that all the veggies are the same shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is SO good! I loved it alongside our grilled steaks. The perfect summer sidedish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I used regular vinegar and slightly more sugar. This was such a simple and refreshing recipe. Went great with our kebabs and pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Loved the recipe, but I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 because I made a few changes. I only had one cucumber and one tomato and no fresh mint, so I used half of one red onion instead of the 2/3 cup. I diced the cucumber and tomato, put them in a collander and let them sit in the sink for fifteen minutes or so. Then I sprinkled them with 1.5 tsp salt, tossed them to distribute the salt, and put them back in the sink for 2 hours. Rinsed off the salt, drained them, and made the dressing. For 1 cucumber, 1 tomato, and half a red onion, I used 2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar, 1 tsp sugar, and 2 tsp dried mint. Combined everything in a bowl, popped it in the refrigerator, and it was fantastic the next day. Yes, that's a lot of steps, but each of them takes what? Thirty seconds? It's pobably about fifteen minutes active prep time, and most of that is chopping veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I used to have a recipe of my own that's exactly same as yours....ratio was different though and lost it over the years. Now that I've found THIS and just had it on Saturday which went well with my steaks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States