Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I would've never thought about putting mint in a salad but it grows wild in my herb garden so gave it a try. My son and his gal were here and they loved it. I used three cucumbers and still had a ton of juice, and felt it was a bit overpowering in the vinegar, so next time I'll use less vinegar and maybe cider or rice vinegar because the red wine discolors the salad. But I will put mint in more salads, it surprisingly adds a nice refreshing flavor and not real minty tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter dinner - thought the mint would pair well with the lamb, and that it's over 80 out today - nice hot weather side dish. I added some julienned sweet peppers, yellow and red, mainly because I had them on hand and they needed to be used. I am not a huge fan of raw tomatoes, but I did enjoy them in this salad. I will update how well it is received at dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
this is a staple in our family now. we are a veggie family but i'm always looking for a way to change it up from a regular tossed salad. this one is perfect. my husband loves it and it holds well for lunch the next day. a plus is it looks beautiful on the table! i did simplify it a bit after making it a few times exactly as stated it all just depends on time. for an extra flare add greek olives and feta for some medeterranian flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wow! I thought that a salad with mint in it would taste really odd- like a dessert. But, it was really tasty - the mint just adds a 'refreshing' taste to it, but doesn't taste truly "minty" to me. Everyone loved it, including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wonderful recipe! For my own taste, next time I'll use less onion and chop it smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
so good! i made it once by the recipe. then the next time i added a dash of chili oil! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! The addition of the mint (I used dried) kept the flavour nice and light! Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was great! I did not add a whole half cup of mint to the mixture and I used sweet onion because that is what I had. This was so perfect for me to use up the cucumbers! Especially after 2 batchs of pickles. The second time I made it, I left out the mint. I liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jemerick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
on paper this recipe sounded great... however, i think that there was far too much vinegar and it overwhelmed the balance of the salad. also, i thought that the mint sounded like a creative and unusual addition and i was excited to use it (i even bought a mint plant!) but honestly if i make this again i won't use it. it just tasted "out of place"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great, fresh salad! I doubled it and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States