Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Everyone loved it! I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was outstanding, though I will likely cut the onions back as others have mentioned. The onions were a bit much, 1/3 or 1/2 c per 6 servings may be more appropriate. Also a bit liquidy, but not an issue if you use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I don't normally like onions in my salads, so I only made half the recipe. Was wishing I had made the whole recipe as I could have eaten it all. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I liked the idea of cucumber, tomato, and mint. I made a 1/2 recipe, so I just let the cucumber sit for about half the time. I don't care for mushy vegetables anyhow and I knew the vinegar would soften them quite a bit. My issue with the recipe was the vinegar, sugar, salt mixture just had a bitter aftertaste. I was able to remedy that by adding 1-2 Tablepoons of water, common in similar recipes. I would have to work with the dressing on this, so I will probably just stick to my favorite cucumber and tomato recipes on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Sounds delicious. Friend made something so similar only hers had quinoa and more fresh herbs from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Not bad. Tastes much better after it sits in the refrigerator overnight instead of eating at room temperature. Next time, I'll also be using less mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
With our summer garden producing record amounts of tomatoes and cucumbers, this was an excellent way to get rid of some of them in a refreshing dish. Here are a couple changes that I felt enhanced the recipe. First, I used seasoned salt rather than regular salt. I felt that it needed a little more umpf, and it really gave it that extra flavor. In regards to the onion being too strong, there are 2 simple changes that can be made and will make the onion flavor more mild and enjoyable. First, slice the onions very thinly and into the crescent shape rather than coarsely. Secondly, mix all ingredients (including onions) together with dressing and allow to sit for an hour, stirring or shaking once in awhile. As the onions sit with the other ingredients, they will become more mild, and the flavors will meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Fabulous, easy salad. The mint is essential to the fresh taste. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
OMG:-) Boyfriend loved it!!! He couldn't leave it alone! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I halved the recipe to use 1 cucumber, I reduced the salt and used green onions for the red, really nice and fresh, great for our BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States