Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I doubled the sauce, except only used 1/2 teaspoon sugar. Sauteed mushrooms and chicken. Used 4 cheese ravioli. Me and my husband absolutely loved this recipe, and will definitely make again. Would also be good with shrimp, or no meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tasty, but doesn't make enough sauce for a pound of pasta. I also wish it wasn't chunky, but I could blend the sauce before adding the cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
It wasn't very good. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This sauce does have a great flavor to it. However, we did not care for the texture. I only used half an onion and fresh tomatoes and it was simply not the cream texture I was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This sauce is fantastic...with some modifications. First, I just use regular canned tomatoes, not the italian style. I am not a huge fan of dried basil, so I use fresh basil that I grow on my deck. I also took the suggestion of other viewers and blend up the sauce so it's not so chunky. I also use half and half instead of heavy cream because that's what I usually have on hand and I omit the butter altogether. I usually serve this over mini cheese ravioli with garlic bread on the side. It really is a fantastic meal that I can throw together in minutes. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The recipe was delicious! It was not enough for a pound of pasta though so I would suggest to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Really good sauce! I was trying to copy a similar sauce my husband and I tried at an Italian restaurant, and this is really close to it. The sauce in the restaurant was a little bit thicker, my guess is that they add flower in it. But, this sauce is also really, really good. We ate pasta with spinach, but would've worked even better with, like, cheese ravioli? Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
easy, cheap, quick, and waaayyyy better than just spagetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
An excellent base sauce for pasta-especially ravioli. I like to boil my ravioli, then place it in an oven dish and smother with this sauce. Then I top it with asiago, mozzarella, panko and italian breadcrumbs and bake at 400 degrees for about half an hour. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I made this recipe with fresh basil & fresh tomatoes (not the Italian style mentioned in the recipe). It was pretty good although I think I would double the recipe next time for the amount of pasta I used. Will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States