Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I tried this for the first time with company and was not disappointed! I looked for and couldn't find anyone else who had added peas, but I decided to add petite sweet green peas (frozen) and thought they were a nice touch. I doubled the recipe on everyone's recommendation (a 28 oz. can of tomatoes) and and added more salt. I left the petite cut Roma tomatoes as they were because we like little pieces of tomato and used a pint of heavy cream (come on, it's not like we're going to eat this dish every day!), added a tablespoon or two of tomato paste and maybe four cloves of finely minced garlic. I'm not a very precise measurer, so a lot of my cooking is by feel. It was not thin at all. Served it over rigatoni and had some leftover. Got rave reviews. Easy and quick - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I add shrimp to this sauce and it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Kinda bland, I'll have to do some tinkering with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this today it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. Here are the changes I made(only 1 really). Only 1 TBSP of olive oil to cook onions and garlic, after cooked them a little while I put all my spice in, drained the tomatoes and put them in the blender, then put them in with other stuff, cooked 5 minutes added cream and butter , cooked another 5 minutes...done. It was great and not runny in the slightest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe 3 times exactly as called for and also using some other people's tips, I've put it in a food processor to smooth it out, I've left it chunky, I just don't like it. It's an odd consistency either way and the blend of seasonings just doesn't work for me. It's sweet with an odd spiciness, I'll have to keep looking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheera Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So yummy! I loved the flavor and and consistency of this sauce. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Beautiful sauce...easy to make. I added a little touch at the end of nutmeg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I felt that this really only made 4 servings tops. I added 1/4 cup white wine after the shallot and garlic, but before the tomatoes. Puréed for better texture, use fresh basil, and deleted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpickle
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is great! My whole family loves it, even my pickiest kid. I like to use 4 cloves of garlic. Purée with emulsion blender after adding cream to finish it off. I always double it for 6 - 8 servings. Great over cheese ravioli or tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States