Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Amazing taste and very easy to prepare- used fresh tomatoes and herbs, flavor out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
There are only two of us, but I made this sauce for 6 servings (since a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes makes that amount) knowing if it was a good as the reviews that there'd be enough for use later in the week. (Use the serving size calculator - very helpful) Purchased chicken/cheese ravioli for use with this sauce and it was awesome... Two nights later, I gently reheated the sauce in the microwave, adding small amounts of leftover Heavy Cream to adjust refrigerated consistency. This time paired with Ziti pasta. (Raves were Equal to meal prepared earlier in the week from the Mrs..) Next will try Linguine and perhaps add sliced mushrooms during the onion/garlic sautéing stage. As my wife is a great fan of sauces that use tomatoes, she absolutely loved it and has asked for frequent inclusion in menu rotation. BTW - with this sauce prepared ahead of time: Second meal prep time took 10 mins to boil the Ziti, you cannot beat that for a restaurant quality meal made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very good and easy to make. The only change I made was to use more garlic. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Delicious. Made it exactly as described but blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I didn't have any canned tomatoes so I sautéed about 5-6 medium tomatoes in oil for about 15 minutes with garlic and onion powder since I was out of onions. I blended it as suggested and added all the spices and remaining ingredients and let simmer while making pasta. This only made about three servings and I did also add flour as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe intrigued me so I tried it except I used fresh tomatoes and was quite disappointed with the overall result. It was bland, dull, flat. I had to then try to add some notable taste to it so added extra salt (no big help)then added crushed red pepper (eh, okay)fresh parsley, (better but still eh). It didn't need the sugar at all and I wish I didn't add that since the onions were sweet enough. I love the concept of a fresh tomato cream sauce so I will keep reworking this till I get it where I think the flavor should be at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this week with fresh tomatoes from our garden and loved it! Instead of pasta, I used it on Eggplant Rollups. (Filled with ricotta, parmesan and spices, I am low carbing) Wonderful sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Pure goodness and simplicity. This sauce came out beautifully Exactly as it was written, with the one exception that I blended it---which is really a matter of personal preference: chunky or smooth. I served my tomato cream over slightly baked hot Italian sausage pieces which I quickly caramelized in a hot pan (we like the crispy edges). Turning down the heat, I added big chunks of green, red, yellow and jalapeno peppers. When the vegetables were cooked to just under crisp, I added the sauce and let everything simmer together for a few minutes. My husband and I cleaned our plates, and there is None of this left in the fridge---all the leftovers were quickly snatched up! This was a winner for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Henshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I chopped up about 5 fresh tomatoes instead of using canned. Delicious! Also, I put in blender to smooth the sauce. After blending, returned to pan and added sliced grilled hot Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I think there is no need to add sugar. Makes the sauce too sweet. The rest of the ingredients I followed and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States