Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
My husband is sometimes a picky eater, but let me just tell you he absolutely loves this! The first time and every time after making this, I have used a Vidalia onion, partially because that's pretty much all we use. I will have to try a "regular" yellow onion sometime just to see what the difference is. But the vidalias give it that much more sweetness to cut the amount of sugar added. I also use WAY more than one clove of garlic. Ours is an Irish/Welsh household but you'd swear some weeks we were Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I made this last night and I am still thinking about it. The dish was easy and wonderful. I omitted the sugar as the onions provided sweetness. I used stewed tomatoes and a squirt of tomato paste for richness. Otherwise just followed the recipe as written. The sauce had a lovely consistency...I did not use a blender for the sauce. My husband was blown away by the taste and presentation. One tip...I used FRESH fettucini from the dairy section of the grocery. This made the dish as it was delicate. The next time I make this (which will be soon) I may add lobster at the end. Thanks you for a great vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Great! I substituted 1/3 pkg (roughly) of cream cheese instead of heavy cream. I got a slightly heavier sauce than what I think this recipe intended, but it was what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I make this with only 1/2 the onion, add about a half cup of red wine, add cooked Italian sausage at the end and serve it over tortellini. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Excellent and easy recipe! I make this all the time for my family and it's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Such a simple recipe has no right to taste this good! Made as is, it is spectacular! I occasionally add some fresh baby spinach or chopped mushrooms. I've also grilled chicken tenders with Italian herbs and balsamic glaze and served them on top of the sauce. I've used the sauce with cheese ravioli--Belissima!! I've used herbs d'Province, fresh herbs and Italian herb paste--you just cannot screw this up! Thank you Kimber, for taking my limited Italian menu to a whole new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mermaid62

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
this tastes especially good with added mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Made as is...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I tried it per the recipe. Too sweet. I wish I hadn't added the sugar. After realizing it was too sweet, I did add fresh basil, more herbs, salt, pepper and a couple splashes of hot sauce. I am glad I used a mix of crushed and pureed tomatoes because I think the consistency with the diced would have been too chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States