Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, easy to make and fast for last minute meals. A few additions or changes: I add extra garlic (about 3 cloves). Next, to make it sugar free, I use a sugar substitute (stevia) instead. I use regular diced tomatoes and I simmer longer than 5 min (about 15 min) making it thicker before adding the cream and and butter to stretch this recipe because it does not make enough for 5. Doing this makes enough for about 3. If you need to feed more than double everything!!! Delicious and definitely restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmwilliams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Used this recipe as a base for a tomato and italian sausage cream sauce. Altered this by (1) using fresh roma tomatoes, (2) mixing italian sausageinto the onion/garlic mix, (3) adding chicken broth, and (4) adding 2 T tomato paste. Oh, and also sprinkled in some red pepper flakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Love It Sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeManiac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Very good and have been making something similar for many yrs. Do not use Italian style tomatoes because we find them sweet - just add extra Italian herbs. Also we do not blend it and at the end throw in some halved black olives. They really give it some zing......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Amazing! This was so good we made it two nights in a row. I did make a couple changes - instead of using canned tomatoes, I diced two large vine tomatoes. I also used garlic salt since I didn't have any garlic on hand, and threw in 2 chopped green onions. The sauce turned out thick enough without any adjustments. We also added cooked sweet Italian sausage and spinach the second time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is delicious. I read some reviews stating they couldn't get the sauce thick enough. I substituted cream cheese for the heavy cream and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Added sauteed chicken strips and it turned out great. I may try half and half next time to see if the heavy cream is worth the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was pretty good - the only change was that I used plain diced tomatoes instead of italian style since I already had those in the cupboard and I pureed the tomatoes mixture. I found it to be a bit bland so I may play around with the spices a bit next time, but it could also have been because I used plain diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Pretty good! I added sauteed mushrooms and a bit more garlic, salt, and sugar. I also pureed it. Next time I'll puree a little less (it wasn't chunky enough), use FRESH herbs, add more veggies (spinach?) and maybe add a bit more cream and/or parmesan cheese. Maybe pureeing in a little cottage cheese would be good:) Overall, great tomato sauce recipe! I suggest doubling it and freezing the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I'm not good at experimenting but at the drop of a hat, when I had just a half hour to prepare dinner for 2, this recipe worked! Absolutely delicious. I usedonly one-half of a small onion instead of a whole onion and I used 2 garlic cloves, not one. I had all of the ingredients except the 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes so I substituted what I had on hand: a one-quart container of fresh grape tomatoes, which I mashed in the pan when added, along with an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. I used those two items instead of the large can of diced tomatoes. This sauce was perfect with a half-pound of macaroni. Added grated parmigiana & more fresh pepper to my plate. Delicious! (For those who thought the sauce was too liquid, they may have covered the sauce while it simmered. Don't cover it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States