Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
easy, cheap, quick, and waaayyyy better than just spagetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
An excellent base sauce for pasta-especially ravioli. I like to boil my ravioli, then place it in an oven dish and smother with this sauce. Then I top it with asiago, mozzarella, panko and italian breadcrumbs and bake at 400 degrees for about half an hour. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I made this recipe with fresh basil & fresh tomatoes (not the Italian style mentioned in the recipe). It was pretty good although I think I would double the recipe next time for the amount of pasta I used. Will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Thought this was the base for a very good sauce. I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes since all the reviews stated that the chunks were gross. Omitted the sugar and oregano, I think the basil added enough sweetness. I also added 2 small cooked diced chicken breasts and 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper although more could have been added. I poured it over rigatoni. Delicious! I know I altered the recipe quite a bit, but it's a good starting point to an even better sauce. I also think a few tablespoons vodka (making a vodka sauce) would be delicious! And use fat free half and half or regular whipping cream, heavy cream has way too much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Added some frozen spinach just to have some veggies involved, and added a bit more salt. Puréed the sauce because my family prefers fewer chunks, and more sauciness. Topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Really really good! I added some sweet Italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
So yummy & easy. Even my picky kids ate it. My husband thought it was a bit too sweet, so maybe I will cut down the sugar next time. I doubled it. I did not saute the garlic & onions. But I used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic & onion and another can with basil, oregano & garlic. I put a little olive oil in and blended it since my kids don't like chunks. Then I followed the recipe as directed. I really like this and will use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I thought this was super delicious, but I had one kid stage an uprising at dinner because she didn't want to eat it. The flavor was perfect, but it was a little thin. I think blending it, as some suggested, would have made it thicker, or possibly if I would have let it reduce some more. THe only changes I made were that I doubled the recipe, and used one can italian diced tomatoes and one can diced fire roasted tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Divine. Will definitely make again and again. I used diced tomatoes with chilies, so it was a bit spicy too. I loved it and it was good even the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was fabulous! My husband raved. I followed one cook's recommendation to use 3 gloves garlic. Yes! I also used fresh basil vs. dried, and sliced about 3 Tbs. At the very end we added some chicken from a store bought rotisserie chicken. YUM. It is in our keeper box. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States