Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled it and made the dollowing changes: I used fresh tomatoes- peeled and diced and added Italian seasoning (had a lot of tomatoes from my farm co-op). Pureed for smoother consistency. Also subbed fat-free half and half for the heavy cream. (Probably would have had a little better consistency had I not done this, but it was still excellent.). I'll make this again the same way, but I think I'll add some tomato paste to give it a little more density. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this today and it was way way to sweet will not make again I followed recipie exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I tried this for the first time with company and was not disappointed! I looked for and couldn't find anyone else who had added peas, but I decided to add petite sweet green peas (frozen) and thought they were a nice touch. I doubled the recipe on everyone's recommendation (a 28 oz. can of tomatoes) and and added more salt. I left the petite cut Roma tomatoes as they were because we like little pieces of tomato and used a pint of heavy cream (come on, it's not like we're going to eat this dish every day!), added a tablespoon or two of tomato paste and maybe four cloves of finely minced garlic. I'm not a very precise measurer, so a lot of my cooking is by feel. It was not thin at all. Served it over rigatoni and had some leftover. Got rave reviews. Easy and quick - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I add shrimp to this sauce and it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Kinda bland, I'll have to do some tinkering with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Made this today it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. Here are the changes I made(only 1 really). Only 1 TBSP of olive oil to cook onions and garlic, after cooked them a little while I put all my spice in, drained the tomatoes and put them in the blender, then put them in with other stuff, cooked 5 minutes added cream and butter , cooked another 5 minutes...done. It was great and not runny in the slightest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe 3 times exactly as called for and also using some other people's tips, I've put it in a food processor to smooth it out, I've left it chunky, I just don't like it. It's an odd consistency either way and the blend of seasonings just doesn't work for me. It's sweet with an odd spiciness, I'll have to keep looking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheera Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So yummy! I loved the flavor and and consistency of this sauce. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Beautiful sauce...easy to make. I added a little touch at the end of nutmeg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 901) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States