Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Awesome recipe. Easy and super good. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes and ended up using a mixture of tomato paste and crushed tomatoes, which worked out very well. I just boiled the tomato sauce longer, probably about 15 minutes to remove most of the moisture before adding the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I found this recipe posted on another site and decided to try it.Here's how I made it.Except for making this in a large skillet the recipe was made exactly as it was written.And I must tell you, " This is the first time I've ever had a red sauce with heavy cream in it. I served this over pasta with Turkey Meatballs. Thank you for taking the time to post this recipe and, " Keep Smiling :) "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was a home run for both my husband and myself. My only addition to the recipe was some sauted mushrooms, which I made ahead of time, then set aside, while I prepared the sauce as directed. Add the mushrooms just before serving. This will become a favorite sauce for us but, next time I plan on doubling the portion to have an extra portion to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious! Just can't seem to get the smooth consistency. Always "gritty". =[ Have tried blending it. Any other tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I changed up the recipe a little; mainly due to laziness and lack of some ingredients. I used progressive tomato basil soup and cream and onion spread. i did not put any sugar in mine. i figured the soup had enough.everything else more or else was the same. it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very tasty! I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and doubled the other ingredients (except for the onion), substituted fat free half, and cooked the sauce for a bit longer. I think I would also use a lot less basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Reduced fat/sodium version: This weekend I made a healthier variant of this sauce by doubling the diced tomatoes (28oz), adding crushed red pepper, dropping the added salt and sugar, and substituting light cream in place of heavy, and margarine for butter. I served this with a pound of ground beef (browned) and a multigrain pasta, which made three hefty servings (I eat a lot, most people could probably divide into 4). This is now one of my favorite and easiest recipes. Next time I might serve with hot turkey sausage, and maybe red onion instead of regular. As for the red pepper, I did not measure, but am used to how much I like in my food. I would suggest that if you are not used to using it, start small and work your way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Pretty good. I made more sauce, both bc I had an extra tomato to use up (I used three large beefsteak tomatoes--which is equal to about 1 1/2 cans worth) and bc I really didn't think this would make enough otherwise. It did, though--I had enough to top three more servings of pasta, so I guess I'd have been fine. This is incredibly easy to make, and I used greek yogurt instead of the heavy cream: don't have any heavy cream and I get sick when there's too heavy of milk products, so it works better for me anyway. I did puree this a bit, but I cooked in a skillet--should've cooked in a pot since it was hard to puree with the immersion blender. I left out the sugar--I know some people think it makes tomato sauce less "harsh"; I just think it makes tomato sauce disgustingly sweet, so I always leave it out, which works better for us. Hubs thought this was just okay--I guess he's not interested in a creamy tomato sauce and would prefer alfredo or tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlsinthecity

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
very good but we wanted to add a little more to it. We added about 2 slices of fried bacon, 3 sliced and cooked italian sausages and a can of mushrooms drained. We make our version of this recipe lots and save leftovers for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States