Tomato-Cornbread Salad with Avocado and Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was excellent. I used a batch of cornbread off the corn meal box, 4 large vine-on tomatoes (can't wait for my garden tomatoes to ripen!!), doubled the cilantro, and only used one avocado. Also had no red wine vinegar so used cider vinegar instead. This is a great recipe to modify for what you have on hand; I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved this! My mother gave us ALOT of fresh tomatos out of her garden, so I found this recipe (among others) to use this wonderful bounty. So happy I ran into this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very light and refreshing. Nice combo of textures and tastes. I did add some finely chopped red pepper, and some black beans for a little more protein. Then added a little romaine around the sides for more crunch. I think it would have been great without these additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
wonderful over spinach as well. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Gladys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This salad was great! My daughter took the leftovers for lunch. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Fun way to use up left over cornbread. Amazing salad; just make sure to eat it right after you toss the cornbread with other ingredients, otherwise it will get soggy. Very creative and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Very flavorful but the cornmeal slightly overwhelms the avocado and tomato. Overall, very light and fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
this was the first time that i made this dish. just found it off the web site and tried for the family. we had alot of tomatoes to use up from the garden and it turned out great. everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States