Tomato-Cornbread Salad with Avocado and Cilantro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Good and different. The onion was so overpowering, though, so I will do maybe 1/4 rather than 1/2 large red onion next time and I put 3 avocados in, but they were pretty small, and I still couldn't get enough of the taste. Next time I will put 4 or 5 avocados in, and make them bigger chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was delicious! The sweetness of the cornbread contrasts nicely with the other flavors. I used leftover cornbread I had made and frozen (recipe from this site). I also added some bell pepper (chopped really finely) and a dash of lime juice. It took me a long time to dry out the cornbread (about an hour and a half in the toaster oven) but it was worth it because it had a nice crunch. This recipe is going in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
We loved this! Easy, delicious, filling. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Mmm this is delicious! Tomatoes from the garden usually means tons of tomato salad and fresh salsa this time of year and I was looking for something a little different...found it!! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I've been wanting to try making a bread salad for a while. The cornbread bites tasted good but the other flavors were overpowering. I found myself pushing the red onion out of the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is fantastic as is! However if you want to make it incredible...add some crumbled bacon. I've also added a can of rinsed white beans to add some protein for a delicious one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this for a family gathering and even the pickiest eaters LOVED this. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teena1015

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe for using up old cornbread. I'd definitely make again. I thought it was a little heavy on the onion--next time, I'll cut that in half. I also used dried cilantro (about 1 T.), and that worked out fine. I mixed the cilantro in with the tomatoes, so it had time to soften up in the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Good, but interesting. I can't help but think this tasted like guacamole with cornbread crutons thrown in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was really good, with a few changes, use fresh tomato, instead of steamed, and sweet onion instead of red. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States