Tomato, Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I am not sure if I should be reviewing this, considering that I made so many changes. I made this for a grilling party to serve with steaks. I subbed black beans for the black olives, omitted the red bell pepper & jalepeno to suite the main dish I was serving. Everyone enjoyed it. My mom loved it. I thought it was just ok. Needs another acid component. I used the juice from 1 lime, an equal portion of olive oil, and salt to taste. Simple and good, but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
The salsa is wonderful made as is. The only thing I added was some finely chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, because we like a little extra heat. I will definitely be making this for get-togethers...it's a crowd pleaser! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Wonderful salsa! Though I did make some changes: Fresh boiled corn instead of canned, no olives, scallions instead of red onion, no bell pepper, canned chopped green chilies instead of jalapenos, mixed lime and lemon juice instead of just lime, and cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. So easy yet so good. I have shared this recipe with many friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Substituted some ingredients for ones that I had in the kitchen already (no olives, white onion instead of red, green bell pepper instead of red) and it was so good! Really refreshing, and a substantial addition to a meal, as opposed to a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious! I forgot to add the tomato but every bite was eaten quickly. I'll be sure to add the tomato next time. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Good and easy! I used frozen corn which I warmed to room temp, instead of canned corn. I also used black beans instead of black olives. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this exactly as the recipe states, minus the olives. I also kept the avacodo separate to keep it fresh. Served over romaine lettuce makes an incredible salad! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
So delicious! My daughter's Mexican mother-in-law makes something very similar, and I had such a craving for it that I made this with what I had on hand. Used my favorite canned salsa instead of tomatoes and peppers, didn't add olives or avocado, and added a dash of balsamic vinegar. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great recipe. Like others, I substituted the olives with black beans and added the avocado when it was time to serve it. Seasoned it with additional spices (cumin, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne). Let it marinade for a few hours. Great flavor - very fresh, healthy. I served it with chips or as a side to our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States