Tomato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Make these!!! I grabbed this recipe because i had left over tomatoes. I enjoyed knowing the history of them amd that added to fun of making and eating these! I was very pleasantly surprised they were as delicious as they are! I used groundbwheat crackers and scallions as that s what i had on hand. Delicious! My 16 month old LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Corinne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Ok, i totally changed it up because of what I had on hand. I used whole wheat flour instead of crackers, because I did not have any crackers. So I took the tomatoes, added a dash of balsamic, some sweet basil, and a dash of sugar along with the salt and pepper. I also diced a chunk of onion and a clove of garlic. I kept adding flour until I had a loose dough. then fried em up according to directions... .. sooooo easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Makinen, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I used Hunt's basil, garlic and oregano style tomatoes and added parmesan cheese to the mix to give it added flavor. I don't like the softness inside. The consistency is very much like a crab cake and that is why this is called tomato cake, I get that, but I don't care for the inside. I will fry my next batch making very thin patties to hopefully get it a bit more crunchy on the inside. I think I will add an egg to the mix next time. It might help with the consistency and not be so wet-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Really Good! I had a bunch of fresh tomatoes on hand, so I just chopped a few and proceeded exactly as written. Good base recipe if one wanted to "jazz it up" a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I had some tomatoes that needed to be cooked, so this recipe was perfect! I used no-salt saltines and added a chopped chipotle pepper. I didn't measure, just threw it all in. I used a small amount of olive oil and the cakes were sticking to my new Green Pan, so it ended up being a wonderful side dish! I would also recommend wrapping it in Roti or Tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YoungWife
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Made this last night and will be having it again tonight already!! Huge hit!! I made it with garlic and herb diced tomatoes, a variety of crackers from the pantry, some sharp cheddar shredded cheese, lots of yummy fresh diced onions, an egg, and some seasonings: Salt, pepper, dill weed, lemon peel, fresh rosemary, and garlic powder. I also threw in a bit of Rotel tomatoes with cilantro. I added the egg to hold it all together better. Fried them up- and they got devoured before I could even get a very good picture of them! They didn't need a sauce at all, and strangely enough they tasted like they had meat in them. They can definitely be used as the main part of a meal! Thinking ill try frying bacon bits to throw in sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a great, frugal recipe. It's a perfect use of extra saltine crackers and most cooks have a can of diced tomatoes on hand. I serve these with a dollop of yogurt or sour cream. It's delicious. They are crumbly when cooking and a non-stick pan is preferred over cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choosyGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Bland, yes, but I made a lot of these cakes and was determined to rescue them. Even in reading the recipe I knew I wanted to give them some extra zing: added toasted, salted sunflower seeds. Also, having no saltines, I subtsituded Mitlon's Multigrain crackers (I get mine at COSTCO) which improved the texture and appearance of the cakes. Still not zippy enough I deep fried the cakes with a coating of Zatarains Fish Fry Mix (also COSTCO). NOW we had a winner. For a main course serve as whole cakes. As a snack or appetizer, refrigerate until firm (for easy cutting) and cut into strips or cubes. Serve hot or cold with plain yogurt - a must. The tart of the yogurt, the sweetness of the tomatoes, and the spiciness of the fish fry mix are a divine combination. My guests worshipped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavor!! These cracker cakes are delicious and my family agrees. I would love to find a way skip the fryer and make these a little healthier, but as is they are scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danfox7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Sweet from the tomatoes but bland, add spices/pepper to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States