Tomato Brie Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
my husband and I really enjoyed this dish. after reading the comments about others having trouble with the cheese melted, I used the Alouette product of softened brie. I did heat 3 packages, until melted and then added the cooked bow tie pasta. I mis-read the recipe and used tomato sauce by Classico. Ladeled that on to the plate, tore fresh basil over it and then added the brie pasta with (my own addition of sauted shrimp) over the top it was delicious. a bit rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This recipe was a bit bland (even using fresh instead of canned tomatoes.) The brie clotted and the final product did not look particularly appetizing. My husband liked it, but our 2 dinner guests hardly touched theirs. It's a good weeknight recipe but I wouldn't recommend for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Hmmm...this one did not work at all for me, which is odd. I've cooked with Brie before, and I've never had it congeal into one big lump after melting until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
GREAT- BUT WITH MODIFICATIONS. -Since you have to cut the skin off of the brie, use about 2x as much as is called for. Also, melt it in the microwave first to avoid curdling. -Use about half as much pasta as is called for, or however much you desire- but the recommended amount is waaaaay too much. -Season the canned tomatos to taste, or even add your own garden-fresh ones. Better produce makes better food. Other than that, it's a great idea and works out well. The brie loses its sometime too strong flavor while maintaining its signature sweetness. Well done! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This rocks! Just tried it and it is delicious. If you can get your kid to eat brie then they will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was good. I was surprised my family liked it. I didn't put as much Brie in the sauce. Just incase the taste was too strong for my family. I served the sauce on the bow tie pasta and sprinkled parm. cheese on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I found this to be rather blah. It's great in theory, but just blah in taste. I do like the idea of adding the Brie to my regular tomato sauce for a different flavor. Next time I will melt the brie in the microwave before adding to the sauce... the heat was too high and it curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Ick. This was too sweet and the flavors just didn't work well together. The brie took forever to melt too. Even after simmering the tomatoes and brie for 45 minutes, it still wasn't all melted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was VERY easy and very much enjoyed by my all my dinner guests, including my vegetarian friend for whom it was chosen. I did add dried oregano and basil as I used all my fresh basil making pesto, and also added salt and pepper and about 3 pressed garlic cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States