Tomato Brie Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
GREAT- BUT WITH MODIFICATIONS. -Since you have to cut the skin off of the brie, use about 2x as much as is called for. Also, melt it in the microwave first to avoid curdling. -Use about half as much pasta as is called for, or however much you desire- but the recommended amount is waaaaay too much. -Season the canned tomatos to taste, or even add your own garden-fresh ones. Better produce makes better food. Other than that, it's a great idea and works out well. The brie loses its sometime too strong flavor while maintaining its signature sweetness. Well done! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was VERY easy and very much enjoyed by my all my dinner guests, including my vegetarian friend for whom it was chosen. I did add dried oregano and basil as I used all my fresh basil making pesto, and also added salt and pepper and about 3 pressed garlic cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Excellent taste, quick and easy. Even my husband, who hates to try "new" things, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This was a quick and easy dish to make, and it was much more flavorful than I expected it to be - I love brie cheese so now I have a great excuse to work it into dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick and easy ... i cut the rind of the cheese, melted it in the micro first - then added to tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimmy IV
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good, quick dish! I did agree with previous reviewers that it was a bit sweet by itself. However, paring it with a spinach salad and a glass of shiraz made it quite balanced overall. I disagree with other reviewers who say to increase the Brie or decrease the pasta. There is a distinct taste of Brie in the dish and I believe more would be too much. The amount of pasta is also just right. Cutting the pasta in half as one reviewer recommended would result in pasta floating in a sauce. I made this dish in February. However, I think it would be best as a light dish during a cool summer evening. (A good option for those going for Meatless Mondays too.) Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Ick. This was too sweet and the flavors just didn't work well together. The brie took forever to melt too. Even after simmering the tomatoes and brie for 45 minutes, it still wasn't all melted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was good. I was surprised my family liked it. I didn't put as much Brie in the sauce. Just incase the taste was too strong for my family. I served the sauce on the bow tie pasta and sprinkled parm. cheese on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I found this to be rather blah. It's great in theory, but just blah in taste. I do like the idea of adding the Brie to my regular tomato sauce for a different flavor. Next time I will melt the brie in the microwave before adding to the sauce... the heat was too high and it curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMAG1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States