Tomato-Bread Salad with Basil and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Awesome salad! To me, tomatoes and fresh basil are a classic combination that go together like peanut butter and jelly! My bread was already stale, so it didn't take long to dry out. I love the addition of capers in this. I didn't change a thing except to add an extra splash of red wine vinegar. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made one small change...I added chunks of fresh mozarella just before serving. What a hit! I would recommend doubling this recipe...for four people I didn't have enough. So simple and soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't use onions (can't stand raw onions), and couldn't find French or Italian bread, so I substituted regular bread. Like several other reviewers, I added 2 small, nearly seedless chopped cucumbers and some chopped mozzarella. This got a major "Wow" from my family! We will definitely be making it more often, and I am hoping to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow if my husband doesn't sneak downstairs and eat them all tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SwissMiss
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
If you like bruschetta, you'll love this salad! Great as written or with the addition of a chopped cucumber or a can of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwissMiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of the bread cubes (I left them out of most of the salad, except tried it with one serving, letting it sit for 10 min. like recipe said) I LOVE the tomato salad, and will keep making this without the bread. Awesome way to use up garden tomatoes before they go bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is defintely a five star recipe. I made as written except at the end added a little balsamic vinegar. This made it even yummier but it wasn't necessary. Obviously, there is quite a bit of chopping but I thought this was super easy to put together....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this salad was awesome. I think it would have been good with chunks of chicken in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristi05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe is so easy and flavorful. I didn't change the recipe at all. It tasted like something I would get at a trendy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
nice summer side salad. good way to use up leftover bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was GREAT! I also added cherry tomatoes to it as well, and toasted the french bread....I called it my Bruschetta Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States