Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe turned out extremely poorly - I followed it exactly. The soup ended up being a very pale peach colour. It was as if there was too much milk/not enough tomatoes. I reweighed my tomatoes twice and definitely used 2 lbs. The flavour wasn't terrible, but certainly wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made tomato bisque before with fresh tomatoes and it was REALLY good but decided to try the canned which wasn't quite as tasty. I recalled having cooked onion with the tomato and put that through a strainer so I decided to put a small onion & garlic through the processor and added the mash along with the other seasonings. Very happy with the results. The roux & milk mixture went together well but one must be patient and keep it on medium for quite a long time. I made a double batch so that may be the reason for taking so long to thicken up. When I got this all together I put some the soup in quart canning jars and now have two quarts to share or have during the week. My husband gives it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I needed an easy recipe from pantry items on a night when I really just wanted soup. This was IT! I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for a tiny bit of kick, but otherwise I made it as-is. Oh, and I only had skim milk but it still tasted great. Next time I'll try fat free half&half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Amazingly easy and delicious. Will be making over and over again for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I too used canned tomatoes - it was very good, rich and creamy. Can't wait for tomato season to roll around again to make this with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I've tried to make low-cal tomato bisque to no avail, so this time I decided to just dive in and stop disappointing my taste-buds. Switched up a few things because of what I had on hand...vegetable bullion instead, 1T fresh chopped basil, 1T butter, 1T flour and 1cup heavy whipping cream. Perfect tomato flavor and outstanding rich-ness. I don't own a food mill but I wanted the texture so instead of blending the tomatoes I threw them into the stock pot and used a fine potato masher to break up the tomatoes into fine bits before adding the seasoning. I simmered 20 min covered and 10 min uncovered. Only came out to 3 cups of soup (my own fault with the changes) but outstanding! I'll definitely use this as my base if I ever try a "low-cal" version again. Next time I'll add some red pepper flakes to the rue to add a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I would give it a 5 star rating. Very nice to serve as a lunch with mozzarella pesto toasted sandwiches! Only takes 1/2 hour if you use canned tomatoes as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
DELISH. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe and it is delicious with only one change - I added fresh basil rather than dried. I suppose using canned tomatoes would be okay, but using fresh tomatoes is preferred, hands down! I would like to know how it is canned - with a pressure canner (at what pressure and how long for pints) or water bath canner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I used tomatoes from the garden and noticed that several reviewers found fresh tomato preparation time consuming. Don't worry about peeling fresh tomatoes! First blanch them whole in boiling water for about 30seconds to 1 minute fresh from the garden, then carefully lift each tomato out with big spoon and place the hot tomato in a bowl of ice water. The skin will blister off easily and after it cools, you can quickly peel the skin and remove the stem and core if needed. A stick type blender makes short order of the tomatoes and shortens the prep time for this recipe considerably. Heirloom tomatoes are particularly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States