Tomato Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wbruni
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! After reading a few reviews I created this to my liking and here's how I did it. I didn't want that large of a pot of soup so I used one 28oz can of crushed tomatoes, approximately 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 or a little more butter and a drizzle evoo, large sprinkle basil, onion and garlic powder, salt and pepper. I let that cook down then added a very large pinch of sugar and a little over 1/2 of a large carton of half and half and then thickened with corn starch dissolved in water. It was so delicious! Thank you so much for this basic recipe to go by! This is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I will def. make this again. Read other reviews and added more sugar and basil and 1 tsp of oregano, 3 cloves of garlic for a double batch. This would be easy to can and heat for lunch on a cold WNY winter day. One of the best tomato bisque I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betty Davis
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Ok yes I did veer from the directions. I kind of combined this recipe and the III one as well. I sautéed 1 large red onion and 4 cloves of garlic in butter and olive oil (next time I will try it with the carrots and celery but I didn't have this time). Then, I added 2-28oz cans of peeled tomatoes, sugar, salt, basil, oregano and 2 beef bouillon cubes. I let that cook for a few and then used my handheld food processor to puree it all. It came out to a thick consistency so no flour was needed. Finally, I added 1 cup of half&half. This came out absolutely delicious. This is a definite repeat. P.S. took the picture after the fact so it's not as pretty as it could be but I tell you it's delicious regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G3B
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made this several times, first as written is very good. My twist that is loved by friends and family is: Only use Roma Tomatoes sliced into quarters into the pot with spices after 30 minutes of simmering use hand blender to liquefy, I use a 1/2 cup of flour as I like my soup a little thicker, and I use half & half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
When making homemade tomatoe soup or bisque I omit the sugar. Usually tomatoes have a sweet taste of thier own. Also using a little onion is tasty in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made this several times and it is really, REALLY good. I have played around with it using half-and-half sometimes and cream others. I prefer using cream, because I like it creamy. I would definitely recommend using at least whole milk, and not going below that. Otherwise, it would be too watery, and not at all like a true Bisque. Also, I use canned tomatoes. Two 28 cans work perfectly. Last night I used crushed tomatoes, because it was what I had, and the boyfriend loved the bits of tomato, but I have also used tomato sauce, and I think I prefer the smoothness of it. Either way, it is a fantastic recipe, and fun to play with. It seems to come out great however you manipulate the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I just made this recipe for the umpteenth time and shared it with neighbors. I make it for the teacher appreciation luncheon each year and it always gets rave reviews! I use fresh tomatoes and run them whole (or sliced in half) with skin and seeds through my Vitamix on high for 30-45 seconds until its completely smooth and puréed. So easy!!! And I use half and half instead of milk... so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This creates a delicious and comforting bisque. I was feeling a bit more creative the last time I made it, and added 1 can of chick peas, about 1/2 tsp. cumin, and a dash of cinnamon. Oh my! It had a rich, Middle Eastern flavor. Pair it with some pita or crusty bread, and it's a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States