Tomato Basil Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delicious soup.. gorgeous color. I just drizzled the olive oil on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This soup is OK. Something is missing though. I'm going to keep searching for a recipe I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I was surprised how good this was for limited ingredients and effort. I was looking for a good way to use up the tomatoes and basil in the garden and this was great on a hot summer night with a fresh baguette. FRESH BASIL is a MUST. Don't even bother with this recipe if you don't have it. I also cut back on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I enjoyed this soup when first made, the next day as leftovers it had turned acidic. It was easy to make, which is always a perk. Next time I want to try it with less oil, not sure it needed that much, and maybe blend in a roasted red pepper just for kicks. Great use of the last of my tomatos in the garden. Next time will skin and remove the seeds from the tomatos. A good crusty bread to compliment is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beacon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
didn't have broth used bullion instead and used fresh garlic no salt (as there is enough in the bullion. Basil was fresh from my garden and the tomatoes were already chilled. . .Made for a quick cool meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband and I thought this was delicious. I had no garlic salt so I used a teaspoon of salt and added a clove of fresh garlic. Also only 3 lbs of chopped tomatoes. I took someone's suggestion and only drizzled a teaspoon or so of oil on the top instead of the quarter cup. Using chilled ingredients helped. Have already added this to my "frequently used" menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Delicious, easy, and great on an August day in cental Texas! Next time I'll leave out the oil, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I had high hopes for this soup, but it did not meet my expectations. It tasted a little too acidic, and maybe even a little bitter. Not a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I didn't have any garlic salt, so I substituted 2 teaspoons of regular salt and about 2 tablespoons of garlic. I also think I used more basil than the recipe calls for. It was delicious! My roommates loved it so much that they told me I definitely need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States