Tomato Basil Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is my favorite tomato basil recipe!! I make it any chance I get! The only thing I do is normally add extra tomatoes and basil and some pepper to taste! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My husband and I love this. I have made it many times and made some changes along the way. I use more garlic and basil, about twice as much. I add blue cheese or feta cheese at the end and then use my immersion blender to make it smooth and creamy. I have even added some smoked chicken we had in the freezer to it. Serve with some crusty bread and you have a wonderful, comforting meal. I suggest doubling the recipe and then freezing it in individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I just made and simmering on the stove as I type. Very delicious and simple to make. Next time I will double the recipe to have extra or to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Super easy to make, and great comfort food for when I'm sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali Reagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This soup was such a surprise! I am a huge fan of tomato soup (especially with rice in it--not sure why that was such a childhood staple). I have had a few very flat-tasting homemade versions, but this was is great. I liked the way the spices tasted--which is often not the case when it isn't something super standard, like cumin in Mexican food. This is excellent served with grilled cheese or rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Awesome Recipe!! Made this last Christmas as an apetizer for a large family dinner. Everyone raved on and on about this soup. We were able to enjoy this soup for the next several days and it was even better the longer it was in the frig. You can definitely make this soup ahead of time and keep in refrigerator till your dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This soup is delicious. Like everyone else, I made a few changes. I sauted the onion and 2 cloves garlic in a little olive oil. Then added the tomatoes and broth and simmered 20 minutes, and then added some fresh basil. I used a blender to liquefy about half of the mixture, and left the rest chunky. I followed the rest of the recipe as it read. I did not use cloves. The final product is very fresh and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Uhh-mazing.(: tastes reeallyy good. I had it with cornbread on the side. Great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This tasted like pureed tomatoes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Bland. I definitely won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States