Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is one of my favorite soups to make for "comfort food" meals. I do increase the basil quite a bit (I throw in a HUGE bunch) and I usually do not use the full amount of milk. I add just enough to give it a creamy mouth feel without adding too much fat. When I make this, I pair it with Italian Grilled Cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Wow! This recipe is delicious. The consistency is just right, cafe style. I used 5 cloves of garlic, a lot more basil (nearly half a cup), and only a cup of heavy cream. Turned out fantastic. Thank you, Sara, for this great recipe. We loved it and will certainly be making it again and again. Great with garlicky grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Really nice soup. I sauted the veggies in stock and used non fat milk instead of cream to lighten the calories. It is still very delicious and tomatoe-y. I did add more basil. I liked rthis had ther veggies in it as well as the tomato sauce. Very easy and also tasted good cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Canning!! Why didn't I think of that???? Midwife Jen, I think, suggested that and take her advice and mine. Double, triple or quadruple the recipe and can it. You'll love it on those cold rainy evenings, like tonight. I paired it up with an upscale grilled cheese. Now I'm fat, dumb and happy! Excellent soup and I'm just not a soup lover so these five stars are definitely worthy of this one! Thanks for a great recipe Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was amazing using all ingredients exactly as listed. I've made good homemade tomato soup before with other recipes, but this will be my new "go-to" with no need to try others. The flavor and creaminess are simply unsurpassed. By the way, for easiest prep, I did all of Step 1 in the morning and refrigerated. In the evening, I started with Step 2 and dinner was on the table (along with grilled cheese sandwiches) in about 15 minutes. At this point, I was dealing with cold soup, so blending was not nerve-wracking. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was great! Best tomato soup recipe I've ever made. I halved the butter and used canned unsweetened coconut milk in place of the cream to reduce the fat and it turned out great! Very creamy and rich. Delicious! Will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe! I kicked up the basil and garlic for added flavor and added another small can of tomato sauce. Using a stick immersion blender made the process much easier and surely less messy. Served with grilled gouda on sourdough. Perfect comfort meal on a rainy night. Thanks for sharing, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I have gone 5 years on AR without leaving a review. With a family of five you just don't hit the nail on the head very often, really if ever, when it comes to dinner. This soup ROCKS! Everyone sucked it down. Made it just as directed, my son walked by and wrinkled his nose asking "what's with all the vegetables?" I assured him he would never know they were there. He had seconds! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Love the flavor the carrots add to this recipe. I added a 1/2 cup or so of Parmesan cheese to the recipe at the end which I think added some needed salt and tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made it with just a tad less heavy cream 3/4 C and 1/4 cup of 1/2 and 1/2. It was still delicious! I also used 2 carrots sliced instead of 15 baby carrots. I added extra Basil. I believe it is company worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States