Tomato Basil Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good! Very simple! I'll be keeping this one! Here are my revisions, taken, in part, from other reviewers observations. Start with a VERY light sprinkle of garlic powder, salt and pepper. Evenly spread fresh basil, coarsely chopped. I grated fresh Parmesan directly onto the salmon and then again on top of Roma tomato slices. Another light sprinkle of salt and any leftover basil before a drizzle of olive oil. I let the salmon sit for about 30 to 45 minutes to allow it to soak up the flavors before baking it for 15 mins., followed by about 2 to 4 mins. under the broiler. I also think it should be served with a lemon wedge, it seemed to need a bit more citrus than what the tomatoes alone provide. Served with couscous and a salad of mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I used fresh basil leaves and layered them under the tomato slices. It made a pretty presentation and the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very yummy and quick prep. I covered the entire salmon with sliced tomatoes but i found my favorite bites were the ones with the parmasean crusted directly on the fish - will do more of that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Amazing Salmon! We tried using a broiling pan though, and cooked it at 375 as suggested for 10 minutes and then turned the broil element on high for another 5-10. That gave us a crisp top and deliciously juicy salmon that literally melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was great. I was looking for an alternative to the usual soy-sauce-based marinades I use for salmon, and this was perfect. The tomato flavor really goes nicely through the fish. A deceptively simple recipe that turns out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was delicious! Perfect for a quick meal. I ended up using canned tomato rather than fresh, since it was what I had on hand, and the juices kept the salmon very moist. Great, quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Excellent! I followed the ingredients and directions as written. I used roma tomatoes, sweet basil and freshly grated parmesan reggiano cheese. The baking time is spot on! The layer of ingredients made for a very pretty dish. I am pleasantly surprised at how delicious this turned out. The salmon is so tender, moist and juicy! I love parmesan cheese and it melted nicely on top of the salmon. A nice combination of fresh flavors! Everything just melted in my mouth and I was in heaven! This is perfect for a late summer dinner - especially here in Hawaii! I served this dish with, "Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots," "Herbed Rice Pilaf," and "Lemon Ginger Shrimp," all from this website and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was a nice simple meal. I did the sauteed spinach and pino noir as recommended and had a lovely evening with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe is delicious! The salmon was very moist and tender. I used fresh basil and freshly grated parmesan cheese. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Pretty yummy...tastes like Olive Garden meets Red Lobster. I chopped a couple cloves of garlic and added it to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon and Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States