Tomato Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Simply delicious! Some things just go great together and to me the combination of tomato and basil is as classic as peanut butter and jelly. This salad just proves the point. All I added was a little minced garlic and a bit of salt and pepper - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a great salad. I have a lot of fresh tomatoes coming out of the garden so I was looking for new stuff to do. I chopped the tomatoes in half & then cut thin slices & chopped the onion into bitesize pieces. It was fabulous. I made it & it was gone! Everyone went back for seconds (and thirds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I only used the dressing part and served over a romaine, tomato, mushroom, cucumber salad. It was extremely good. I use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Simple and delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Delicious! A great way to use up fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. I chopped the onions and mixed it in with the dressing. Even the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Great way to use up all of the tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMATREE
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I really liked this salad. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so used balsamic instead, and the dressing really enhanced the tomato flavour. I can't wait til I have more ripe tomatoes so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious!!! So easy and everyone loves it. I use heirloom tomatoes and sometimes add in mozzarella balls. The longer you let it sit the better. About an hour. I love to make this when we have company. It always wins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My mother-in-law always made a delicious tomato salad to bring to bbq's. She never measured anything and couldn't give the exact measurements to me. Naturally mine never came out as good. This tastes the same as hers. It is even great when you substitute fresh parlsey for the basil. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronEdsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am a school cook and made this for our salad bar....I did increase the sugar to 2 Tablespoons...but the teachers and students really raved abou it...now I make it every week with all the fresh garden tomatoes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PABOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States