Tomato Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Simply delicious! Some things just go great together and to me the combination of tomato and basil is as classic as peanut butter and jelly. This salad just proves the point. All I added was a little minced garlic and a bit of salt and pepper - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I really liked this salad. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so used balsamic instead, and the dressing really enhanced the tomato flavour. I can't wait til I have more ripe tomatoes so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Delicious! A great way to use up fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. I chopped the onions and mixed it in with the dressing. Even the kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I only used the dressing part and served over a romaine, tomato, mushroom, cucumber salad. It was extremely good. I use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Really nice and tasty with fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. I think I'll add some chunks of fresh mozzarella to it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a great addition to our weekend cookout! I did make a few changes though. Instead of slices, I cut the tomatoes into bite-sized chunks. I diced the onions and used a vidalia instead of red. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used 1/2 tsp dried basil. I also added 1/2 tsp each of oregano, salt and black pepper, as this is how I remember my Mom making her tomato salad. Obviously, the longer this sits, the better it tastes, and after a few hours it was sooo yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious!!! So easy and everyone loves it. I use heirloom tomatoes and sometimes add in mozzarella balls. The longer you let it sit the better. About an hour. I love to make this when we have company. It always wins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm not a tomato fan, but love growing them. Made this for a BBQ with everything in my greenhouse. I added a chopped zucchini and yellow squash, and some Feta cheese as well. Don't forget the sea salt and pepper. I tasted the dressing after making it and it was missing something. The S & P was it. My guests scarfed this up like it was going out of style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe. I didn't have fresh basil so I used one tablespoon of dried basil instead and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. It came out great. Almost like my mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious and refreshing....I did use olive oil and a lot more fresh basil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States