Tomato Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is good. I would have rather have used fresh cilantro over the basil but that is just personal preference. I tripled the recipe and used the leftovers as a topping for our green salad. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I liked this recipe. I diced the tomatoes and onions, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This would be a great accompaniment to a light summer meal. It really brings out the fresh flavor of the tomatoes. I think mozzarella or feta cheese would be a nice addition, but it's very good as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My mother-in-law always made a delicious tomato salad to bring to bbq's. She never measured anything and couldn't give the exact measurements to me. Naturally mine never came out as good. This tastes the same as hers. It is even great when you substitute fresh parlsey for the basil. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronEdsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Delicious!!! So easy and everyone loves it. I use heirloom tomatoes and sometimes add in mozzarella balls. The longer you let it sit the better. About an hour. I love to make this when we have company. It always wins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I really liked this salad. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so used balsamic instead, and the dressing really enhanced the tomato flavour. I can't wait til I have more ripe tomatoes so I can make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Great way to use up all of the tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMATREE
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Simply delicious! Some things just go great together and to me the combination of tomato and basil is as classic as peanut butter and jelly. This salad just proves the point. All I added was a little minced garlic and a bit of salt and pepper - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a great salad. I have a lot of fresh tomatoes coming out of the garden so I was looking for new stuff to do. I chopped the tomatoes in half & then cut thin slices & chopped the onion into bitesize pieces. It was fabulous. I made it & it was gone! Everyone went back for seconds (and thirds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I loved the flavor of fresh basil in this salad. I used Vidalia onion instead of red because that's what I had even then it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Delicious and refreshing....I did use olive oil and a lot more fresh basil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States