Tomato Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
You know, this one was sort of disappointing to us. I used some nice Campari tomatoes but otherwise followed the recipe, with the exception of cutting the sugar in half. I made this about two hours ahead and let it sit at room temperature until dinner. If at all possible I never refrigerate tomatoes, as their flavor diminishes. When Ohio River Valley tomatoes are available I may try this one again, and I’ll let it sit longer hoping the flavors will develop a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
VERY GOOD!! I think this would actually taste great over a nice loaf of toasted french bread, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm not a tomato fan, but love growing them. Made this for a BBQ with everything in my greenhouse. I added a chopped zucchini and yellow squash, and some Feta cheese as well. Don't forget the sea salt and pepper. I tasted the dressing after making it and it was missing something. The S & P was it. My guests scarfed this up like it was going out of style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was simple to make and a great way to use all those tomatoes from my garden Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Didn't like the sugar with tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This recipe is great for using excess tomatoes (I never thought I'd say that in Alaska!). It's a throwback to my childhood, my family made this with oregano so I added that. The only other change is that I used Stevia instead of sugar to make it lower carb. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a great addition to our weekend cookout! I did make a few changes though. Instead of slices, I cut the tomatoes into bite-sized chunks. I diced the onions and used a vidalia instead of red. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used 1/2 tsp dried basil. I also added 1/2 tsp each of oregano, salt and black pepper, as this is how I remember my Mom making her tomato salad. Obviously, the longer this sits, the better it tastes, and after a few hours it was sooo yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe. I didn't have fresh basil so I used one tablespoon of dried basil instead and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. It came out great. Almost like my mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Really nice and tasty with fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. I think I'll add some chunks of fresh mozzarella to it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am a school cook and made this for our salad bar....I did increase the sugar to 2 Tablespoons...but the teachers and students really raved abou it...now I make it every week with all the fresh garden tomatoes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PABOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States