Tomato Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
You know, this one was sort of disappointing to us. I used some nice Campari tomatoes but otherwise followed the recipe, with the exception of cutting the sugar in half. I made this about two hours ahead and let it sit at room temperature until dinner. If at all possible I never refrigerate tomatoes, as their flavor diminishes. When Ohio River Valley tomatoes are available I may try this one again, and I’ll let it sit longer hoping the flavors will develop a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
VERY GOOD!! I think this would actually taste great over a nice loaf of toasted french bread, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm not a tomato fan, but love growing them. Made this for a BBQ with everything in my greenhouse. I added a chopped zucchini and yellow squash, and some Feta cheese as well. Don't forget the sea salt and pepper. I tasted the dressing after making it and it was missing something. The S & P was it. My guests scarfed this up like it was going out of style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was simple to make and a great way to use all those tomatoes from my garden Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Didn't like the sugar with tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This recipe is great for using excess tomatoes (I never thought I'd say that in Alaska!). It's a throwback to my childhood, my family made this with oregano so I added that. The only other change is that I used Stevia instead of sugar to make it lower carb. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a great addition to our weekend cookout! I did make a few changes though. Instead of slices, I cut the tomatoes into bite-sized chunks. I diced the onions and used a vidalia instead of red. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used 1/2 tsp dried basil. I also added 1/2 tsp each of oregano, salt and black pepper, as this is how I remember my Mom making her tomato salad. Obviously, the longer this sits, the better it tastes, and after a few hours it was sooo yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe. I didn't have fresh basil so I used one tablespoon of dried basil instead and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. It came out great. Almost like my mother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Really nice and tasty with fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. I think I'll add some chunks of fresh mozzarella to it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am a school cook and made this for our salad bar....I did increase the sugar to 2 Tablespoons...but the teachers and students really raved abou it...now I make it every week with all the fresh garden tomatoes we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PABOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States