Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stella_illuminata
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
So delicious and very versatile! I made this last night for dinner modifying it to fit what I had on hand. I had tons of fresh basil, a half a pint of grape tomatoes, and 5 pounds of mozzarella on hand left over from a charity event we made baked ziti for. Since I only had half the amount of tomatoes called for, I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce I found in the pantry, and loaded the sauce up with fresh basil instead of just adding it at the end. I used two cups of mozzarella in place of the pepper jack and served this over ravioli instead of penne. Usually I stick to a recipe the first time I make it but I wanted a quick dinner using ingredients I already had, so I changed this a little bit and it came out great. Definitely try this recipe, and don't be afraid of doing a little experimentation. I will be certainly be making this again. Next time I'm going to try the recipe exactly as written, but I'm sure it's great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I was a little hesitant to try this but it was absolutely delicious and I gave it 5 stars. The only modification I made was that I used 3 tbl. regular olive oil and 1 tbl. dried basil. Very creamy and with just a slight kick due to the pepperjack cheese. It's like a new versions of mac and cheese. You won't be diappointed if you give this recipe a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great pasta dish! I added yellow squash and zucchini (because I do to everything this time of year!), and used plum tomatoes because I didn't have grape. I can't believe I'm going to say it, but the amount of cheese was too much for me, made doing the dishes a bear too trying to get all the cheese off the plates and pans. Next time I make this, which I definitely will, I will use less cheese and more basil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~NorCal Mom~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made the following changes: Smart Taste Rotini instead of Penne, followed the directions on the box for cooking time. I used much less cheese than the recipe called for - about 1/2 a cup of mozz, a small amount of parm and added feta instead of the jack. It came out great. Next time I will add spinach for sure. I served it with the Parmesan Chicken recipe by Mollie Hall on this site (see my review there for my adjustments). FANTASTIC dinner - everyone in the family had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This tasted like a dish from Macaroni Grill. Loved it! I added spinach, added about 2-3 times as much basil, cut back on the parm and increased the jack for an extra kick. Next time I'll add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I loved the ingredients when I saw this recipe, but I didn't end up loving the recipe itself so much. Melting the cheese as directed makes the cheese clumpy when trying to mix the penne in. I had to break up chunks of cheese that melted to try to distribute it throughout the dish. Next time, I would advise to put the cheese into the hot penne instead of putting the penne into a pan of melted cheese. After tasting, it was lacking some flavor, so we decided to add some homemade pesto to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
So good. I had fresh chicken that I added as well and it made the dish a little more filling. For leftovers a second night I mixed in cooked broccoli which was terrific too. Easy to adapt and so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe did NOT turn out the way I thought it would. It was bland and the cheese was very lumpy making it hard to serve. My suggestion is to add some garlic salt and put in the cheese right after you put in the penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE!!! Seriously. I used the amt called for and it was overwhelming. I'd halve it. I also used only mozz and parm and it was delicious. The flavor is good though my boyfriend complained it was too tart with the tomatoes. He said maybe we could try broccoli next time... we'll see. Also, I added some chicken broth to simmer the tomatoes... because how do you simmer anything in 2T oil? I think the chicken broth is a good addition. I added maybe 1/3 of a small can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
loved it! Didn't have all the cheeses so used one slice of veggie pepperjack, 1/2 cup of mexican mix kroger brand shredded cheese, and about 1/2 cup of parmesan. Also used fresh basil leaves and a couple of shakes of dried basil (maybe about 1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States