Tomato Basil Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
loved it! Didn't have all the cheeses so used one slice of veggie pepperjack, 1/2 cup of mexican mix kroger brand shredded cheese, and about 1/2 cup of parmesan. Also used fresh basil leaves and a couple of shakes of dried basil (maybe about 1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good, and super easy. I added a can of diced tomatoes and served with grilled chicken on top. I also didn't have basil oil so just sprinkled basil in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Meh. Pretty bland, and the cheese got grainy and odd when mixed with the tomatoes. Wasn't bad by any means, but I also won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpersfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I loved the ingredients when I saw this recipe, but I didn't end up loving the recipe itself so much. Melting the cheese as directed makes the cheese clumpy when trying to mix the penne in. I had to break up chunks of cheese that melted to try to distribute it throughout the dish. Next time, I would advise to put the cheese into the hot penne instead of putting the penne into a pan of melted cheese. After tasting, it was lacking some flavor, so we decided to add some homemade pesto to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious pasta, and we experiment with pasta frequently. Everyone cooks in this family. Used feta cheese instead of pepperjack. I made a big woops. I made to much pasta for the amount of cheese. Next time I will either make less pasta or double the cheese. Definitely a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE!!! Seriously. I used the amt called for and it was overwhelming. I'd halve it. I also used only mozz and parm and it was delicious. The flavor is good though my boyfriend complained it was too tart with the tomatoes. He said maybe we could try broccoli next time... we'll see. Also, I added some chicken broth to simmer the tomatoes... because how do you simmer anything in 2T oil? I think the chicken broth is a good addition. I added maybe 1/3 of a small can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Sucha great recipe. I was crunched for time, and ingredients. I put actual basil spice in with the olive oil & used baby shell pasta. Also, just used cheddar cheese. Put some cheddar cheese on top when it was all combined in casserole dish & baked in oven for 10min. Company absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittCBrock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I tried this recipe and it came out really good. I'm not the best of all cooks and my boyfriend devoured it. I made it as is, and I thought it was a little bit cheesy. I think however, that I'll add more tomatoes next time and see how that works out. :) Yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
very yummy, i made it for kids and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! I "downgraded" to regular tomatoes (local, flavorful and NOT Roma) to save a little money, but it still tasted great. Also, I used wheat pasta. Do not be afraid to add more basil! I think I ended up adding 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup and it added a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States