Tomato Basil Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
We liked the simplicity of this recipe, but did find it bland based on the original recipe. We added garlic powder and thyme to the breadcrumbs (we used panko crumbs). We also added garlic and rosemary seasoning blend to the tomato mixture along with coming half the diced onion with a bit of butter until cooked through, to cut down on the raw onion bite and let it marinate in the fridge. We also warmed the tomato mixture in a skillet before topping the finished chicken breasts. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good! I scaled this to two servings for Hubs and me. I made the tomato relish portion of this recipe, cutting the balsamic and olive oil in half. I made it in the afternoon and let it sit at room temperature until serving. And in order to save some calories, I just salted and peppered my chicken and seared it in a little olive oil, skipping the entire breading/frying process. My way was quick and easy and I would definitely do it that way again. Fresh basil and a good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar are key to this recipe. Here’s a tip: If you think your balsamic vinegar isn’t quite the quality it should be, you can add just a touch of brown sugar to it to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
i really enjoyed this recipe! i like to add some extra seasoning to the bread crumbs. i also like to put the tomato mixture in the fridge overnight =) . this just looks soo pretty when its complete. thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this for my very picky family and they absolutely LOVED it! I am making it again tonight :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
super basic, easy to make recipe. saves well for leftovers -- make extra tomato basil mixture for bruschetta the next day. were missing a few of the ingredients but easy enough to sub without any notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Because the other reviewers noted about the bland chicken, I added salt and pepper to the egg mixture and marinated the chiken for about an hour before covering them with the bread crumb. I also sauted the onion and let it cool before making the tomato basil mixture. It cuts down on the strong onion taste. Excellent and low carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
great combination of vegetable topping, but chicken was a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Good sauce. Made night before then served over chicken breasts marinated in a lite Italian dressing. Ripe tomatoes, Vidalia onions and fresh basil are a good combo with grilled chicken. Served with a salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I agree with one of the other reviews--the chicken portion wasn't great, but the tomatoes/onion mix was wonderful! I warmed it up in a skillet for a few minutes so it was a bit tender. Next time, I'll probably make oven baked chicken and then top with the tomato mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I used a few variations, but didn't like the chicken part of it. Loved the tomatoe and onion bit, but the onions got very strong after a little. Probably won't make it again. At least no the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States