Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I loved this salad. I added capers. I also used red onion as well as the green onion. Refreshing, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Wonderfully refreshing! I was lucky to get one small serving- I added some black olives for color and fun. Will make all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe. I used regular tomatoes, red onion instead of green, and added black olives. Next time I will have to double the recipe, because it disappeared so quickly. Thanks VancGirl2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Excellent! Instead of romas, I used tomatoes from the garden, which I seeded, and I used blue cheese instead of feta. Also used coarsely chopped red onion instead of green onions. The substitutions I made, I'm sure, were incidental to the final yum of the salad. It's the perfect combination of balsamic, olive oil and fresh basil that makes this an outstanding salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My tomatoes hadn't rippened yet so I tried this recipe with canned and it was still excellent. Can't wait to make it again with my home grown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBILL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deep River, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I loved this! It's like a caprese salad, only with way more flavor. One of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made this when I had fresh basil and feta cheese in the fridge that had to be used up. It was excellent. I didn't have roma tomatoes on hand so I used regular tomatoes instead. I served this with fresh homemade whole wheat bread for a light meal on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Excelent as published. I will triple this next time. Its healthy and satisfying. I will prepare this frequently.Lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I posted a review of this recipe yesterday and want to add a couple notes. Since I make a large bowl of this for a crowd, I really don't measure...just do it to taste. But I do use a 4 oz container of the Feta. Also I use red onion sliced, for more color and to sweeten it just a little, add some honey to the Balsamic, to taste.I also slice the cucumbers instead of chopping. If this salad is made in advance, I put the olive oil in last after marinating all the other ingredients in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Very easy. Very good. I used grape tomatoes cut in 1/2 - also next time I will reduce the amount of oil. (I increased the amount of vinegar to get the flavour I wanted.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States