Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Loved it. I used diced red and yellow tomatoes and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Woaha was this awesome! 5 stars all the way. This is the perfect way to use up everything from my garden. All herbs, tomatoes and cucs were from the garden. Loved it and even gave some away to a neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This could easily become a summertime habit! Roma tomatoes have been particularly red and ripe lately in our groceries, and with a plentiful supply of basil in my garden I could eat this healthy, light, flavorful salad every day. I didn't peel the cucumbers, but to prevent excess liquid as the salad sat I seeded both the cucumbers and the tomatoes. I think with the extra green of the cucumber peel, and getting rid of that not particularly attractive "guts," that it made this salad especially pretty. The green onion provided just the slightest bit of bite, but not as much as regular onion would, which I appreciated. This really is a a more delicately flavored salad. In keeping with that, I used fresh lemon juice rather than balsamic vinegar, which I prefer when I want a lighter dressing. At the last minute I tossed in some chopped ripe avocado when I remembered I had one and it really added so much creamy contrast in texture. I loved it. And I loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
very simple and delicious! I didn't have green onions, but I didn't miss them. I think I'll try with purple onion next time, as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
FAB-u-lous! Used grape tomatoes along with red onions, cucumbers & fresh asparagus. No fresh basil on hand, so used dry and had to add a bit of honey (my balsamic vinegar wasn't the best) and marinated everything except feta cheese for about 5 hours b4 serving. LOVED it! Will make again & again this summer, using fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Delicious! Very good and very refreshing! I love the combination of tomato, basil and feta. I used cherry tomatoes that I cut in half lenghtwise and replaced the green onions with red. I aso added a little bit of oregano for a little extra touch of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This salad is so refreshing! I like to also add a little garlic powder and some extra feta. We LOVE it, especially in the summer with garden fresh ingredients-YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I didn't have roma tomatoes so used cherry tomatoes instead. I let the salad sit in the fridge for a couple of hours then added the feta just before serving. We really liked the balsamic dressing. Thankyou Vancgirl 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Wonderful!!! I also added black olives and red onion. I didn't add the oil and vinegar until about 30 minute before serving. Be sure to salt and pepper to taste. I will be making this again and again. I can't wait for the veggies from my garden:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I thought the vinegar flavor in this was overpowering, much as I liked the idea and the ingredients. If I make it again, I will use half or less of the vinegar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States