Tomato, Basil, and Feta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Excelent as published. I will triple this next time. Its healthy and satisfying. I will prepare this frequently.Lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Wonderfully refreshing! I was lucky to get one small serving- I added some black olives for color and fun. Will make all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I posted a review of this recipe yesterday and want to add a couple notes. Since I make a large bowl of this for a crowd, I really don't measure...just do it to taste. But I do use a 4 oz container of the Feta. Also I use red onion sliced, for more color and to sweeten it just a little, add some honey to the Balsamic, to taste.I also slice the cucumbers instead of chopping. If this salad is made in advance, I put the olive oil in last after marinating all the other ingredients in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Excellent! Instead of romas, I used tomatoes from the garden, which I seeded, and I used blue cheese instead of feta. Also used coarsely chopped red onion instead of green onions. The substitutions I made, I'm sure, were incidental to the final yum of the salad. It's the perfect combination of balsamic, olive oil and fresh basil that makes this an outstanding salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Very easy. Very good. I used grape tomatoes cut in 1/2 - also next time I will reduce the amount of oil. (I increased the amount of vinegar to get the flavour I wanted.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I loved this salad. I added capers. I also used red onion as well as the green onion. Refreshing, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Our tomato and cucumber crops are booming, and this recipe jumped out at me. I plucked some basil out of the garden and whipped this up, and it was very good. I forgot the green onions, but it was fine without. The recipe would be good tossed with salad greens, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe. I used regular tomatoes, red onion instead of green, and added black olives. Next time I will have to double the recipe, because it disappeared so quickly. Thanks VancGirl2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I made this when I had fresh basil and feta cheese in the fridge that had to be used up. It was excellent. I didn't have roma tomatoes on hand so I used regular tomatoes instead. I served this with fresh homemade whole wheat bread for a light meal on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My tomatoes hadn't rippened yet so I tried this recipe with canned and it was still excellent. Can't wait to make it again with my home grown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBILL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deep River, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States