Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is a great soup already, but I jazzed it up by using canned tomatoes with Italian seasoning in them (not stewed tomatoes, but you could probably use those, too); and by adding 1-1/2 tsps Italian seasoning towards the end of the simmer, a cube of chicken boullion, and a can of chick peas (could go with navy beans, too). Dee-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I love this soup! Last time I added cabbage and leftover turkey. Vegetable broth instead of water gives a little more flavor - though I like it anyway. Very easy to make too and keeps well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Very good. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I found this recipe because I wanted to make a soup using barley. Well, I could not be happier! This soup was very easy and tasty as well! Thanks for the great recipe. I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Very good flavor. However, it produces a very brothy soup so if you're looking for something a bit more hearty, omit the water altogether and put 2 cups of the cooked soup in the blender, puree it and add it back ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I doubled the batch and tossed it in a slow cooker with cabbage. I did not toss in the water, but did do the broth and it ended up as a stew rather than a soup. It was very hearty and quite delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Nice. Bright and sort of sweet. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so just stuck with canned. Added cabbage towards the end and a dash of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Excellent - hearty and easy! I did not follow the recipes exactly but I felt the changes were not significant and I loved this soup. I substituted a 14 oz. can of beef broth for the chicken both because that's what I had on hand. I also did not use canned garbanzos - I cooked them from dry and used that (if you have the time, I definitely recommend). I used 1/3 cup barley and felt I could have gone up to 1/2 cup easily. I sauteed my veges in Pam and omitted zucchini because I didn't have it one hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
I mixed a little hot sauce and wild rice. I found that vegetable broth works better then the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Yum yum yum. I added white beans and chili powder based on a suggestion here. Very tasty, and the carrots (slice them long) add substance and unexpected crunch and flavor to tomato soup. There are plenty of leftovers (even after serving 3) and I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States