Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2000
Tasty, but I like less vegetables in my tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
I mixed a little hot sauce and wild rice. I found that vegetable broth works better then the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
delicious! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
This is a very easy soup. I added extra veggies. Tastes like minestrone soup without the beans. KAMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
This is great. It is easy to make and tastes wonderful! I added a cup chopped red cabbage to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This is a very easy recipe to make and it tastes pretty good. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This soup has a wonderful, mellow flavor! Prior to adding the barley, I pureed half the soup as my family doesn't care for vegetable "chunks". I also made a quadruple batch of this for a Soup Supper at church. It was a big hit. Thanks! More info 10/08: Can't tell you how many times I've made this soup and always, always get positive comments from young and old alike from simple and sophisicated palates. My advice: don't add any extra flavors such as basil. Resist the temptation! I also thought it would be good, and luckily just modified a small amount of the pot. The results made for a different soup entirely. The only thing that I've changed is to omit the water and substitute all chicken broth (low sodium is best) I do agree that drastically changing the recipe makes it hard to rate what is written for the original, however, I often find it helpful to read what others have tried, and sometimes substituted in a pinch. In my opinion, please keep sharing. That's part of why I come to allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This wasn't bad but it could have used some more spices. Per others, I did add some hot sauce to taste and added some shredded cabbage halfway through cooking. Still, I had to add some extra S&P to make it more flavorful. Maybe some chili powder would help? Made for a decent lunch with some grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Yum yum yum. I added white beans and chili powder based on a suggestion here. Very tasty, and the carrots (slice them long) add substance and unexpected crunch and flavor to tomato soup. There are plenty of leftovers (even after serving 3) and I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I love this soup! Last time I added cabbage and leftover turkey. Vegetable broth instead of water gives a little more flavor - though I like it anyway. Very easy to make too and keeps well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States