Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good soup! I added some chicken for my hubby's benefit. Used veggie broth. The only herb I added was to simmer a bay leaf in the soup. I did throw a handful of frozen chopped spinach in for the last ten minutes. That made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
LOVED it. Very easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I love this soup and have always made it according to the recipe with the exception of adding a little basil and more barley. Today, I made a mistake and used a can of diced tomatoes with basil,garlic and oregano. Still great. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
i used to make this a lot but lost my recipe. I was so delighted to have found the recipe. I didnt have my garlic this time thought and it is still perfectly yummy. I how ever use my own canned tomatoes. Thank you for being the only one who has the tomato barley soup recipe on this whole site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very nice and very easy to make. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
The soup was really great ! I did puree half of the soup and poured it back into pot, for a little creamier texture. The only thing I did different was add a potato. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Great Soup! I added a can of black beans and zucchini. I also added tiny tofu squares (i cut them teeny-tiny and added it with the rest of the vegetables). It was really good and they were so cute floating in the soup. I will add them to other soups that I make that don't need to be pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I adjusted the recipe just a little and after adding 2 cups of Play sand, I thought it was just a bit dry. --- I agree with the gentleman that say you should not rate a recipe your have not tasted. if you modify it you are actually rating your own mess, but it affects the rating of the recipe submitted. STOP IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe. This is a chunky filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So, SO delicious! I added a can of corn and did 4 cups of chicken broth instead of water. It was really good and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States