Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great recipe. Only thing I add is cabbage. I've made this many times now and people who try it really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
it was OK. i did not care for it but every one else really liked it. i did not have any barley so i added orzo. personally it came out to thick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I found it to be a little greasy from the sauted veggies. I would recommend not sauteing the veggies in oil. I would have also added more barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Really good soup! I added more barley as others suggested (maybe a bit much as it absorbed a lot of liquid) and it was a tasty and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent soup; very easy to make. I didn't add the two diced tomatoes, as I didn't have them on hand, and I'm sure we never missed them. Makes a really good and thick bowl of soup; you won't even need crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Just right! I added a little extra barley and a little more broth (veg broth). I also used the can of diced tomatoes that contained green chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. Going off the recipe and adding the cabage lended itself perfectly to a new variation. I was short on time so I used condensed tomato soup instead of making it. We also added some crispy crumbled bacon, basil, and whipping cream to add a little more to the soup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I really like this soup. I made the soup exactly as the recipe was written the first time. Then I changed a few things. I sautéed the veggies in 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of canola oil until almost tender. I omitted the fresh tomatoes and used 2 cans of the canned tomatoes. I omitted the water and used a 32 oz box of chicken broth. (Veggie broth when my vegetarian nephew comes to visit). I also increased the barley to 3/4 cup. After adding the barley I reduced the heat to low, covered the pan and let the soup simmer for 45 – 60 minutes. I wasn’t ready to serve right when it was done so I turned the heat off and let it sit, covered, for an hour or so and the barley absorbed more of the broth and the soup was thick like a stew. My family loved it that way. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious! Even better when reheated! Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Absolutely yummy!!! Doubled the water, carrots, added 3/4 cup uncooked barley. Left out the fresh tomatoes, just added the can of diced tomatoes. A little dried basil, a few bay leaves. Didn't have the can of chicken broth, threw in 2 chicken boullion cubes. Also added chunks of leftover sirloin tip roast. Will add an extra cup of water or will get a can of broth for next time. Enough left over for my husband and I for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States