Tomato Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I found it to be a little greasy from the sauted veggies. I would recommend not sauteing the veggies in oil. I would have also added more barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Really good soup! I added more barley as others suggested (maybe a bit much as it absorbed a lot of liquid) and it was a tasty and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent soup; very easy to make. I didn't add the two diced tomatoes, as I didn't have them on hand, and I'm sure we never missed them. Makes a really good and thick bowl of soup; you won't even need crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Just right! I added a little extra barley and a little more broth (veg broth). I also used the can of diced tomatoes that contained green chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. Going off the recipe and adding the cabage lended itself perfectly to a new variation. I was short on time so I used condensed tomato soup instead of making it. We also added some crispy crumbled bacon, basil, and whipping cream to add a little more to the soup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I really like this soup. I made the soup exactly as the recipe was written the first time. Then I changed a few things. I sautéed the veggies in 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of canola oil until almost tender. I omitted the fresh tomatoes and used 2 cans of the canned tomatoes. I omitted the water and used a 32 oz box of chicken broth. (Veggie broth when my vegetarian nephew comes to visit). I also increased the barley to 3/4 cup. After adding the barley I reduced the heat to low, covered the pan and let the soup simmer for 45 – 60 minutes. I wasn’t ready to serve right when it was done so I turned the heat off and let it sit, covered, for an hour or so and the barley absorbed more of the broth and the soup was thick like a stew. My family loved it that way. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made this for dinner the other night and it was delicious! Even better when reheated! Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Absolutely yummy!!! Doubled the water, carrots, added 3/4 cup uncooked barley. Left out the fresh tomatoes, just added the can of diced tomatoes. A little dried basil, a few bay leaves. Didn't have the can of chicken broth, threw in 2 chicken boullion cubes. Also added chunks of leftover sirloin tip roast. Will add an extra cup of water or will get a can of broth for next time. Enough left over for my husband and I for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My family loved this, I put in more barely 1 cup. I also added zucchini, dried basil. I served it with home made pizza bread. Super yummy! we'll cook it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. And very easy. The only addition I make is some chop suey meat that I add, already cooked, about 10 minutes before the soup is done. My 9 year old daughter constantly requests this soup. I make this almost weekly during the winter months. Thanks for a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States